Research Guides: Public Health: Population Characteristics

Population Specific Databases

Look for literature/articles that help you understand the socioecological and psychosocial factors that influence your target population. Brainstorm terminology to begin with and then, as you look over results, jot down additional terminology to broaden your search.

AgeLine Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Chicano Database Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
Contemporary Women's Issues Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Gender Studies Journals and magazines on gender studies, sexual behavior, family and marital issues, LGBTQ rights, and health. Provided by NOVELNY.
GenderWatch Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
International African Bibliography Online Scholarly journal and book index for African and African diaspora studies, published in cooperation with the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa. Includes all entries from the journal International African Bibliography (1971-2015) plus new entries.
LGBTQ+ Source Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Index to research related to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, from 1900 to present.
Race Relations Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Women's Studies International Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.

Local, Regional, Federal Statistics/ Health Indicators

Demographic Data

Health

National

CDC: Data & Statistics
CDC: Healthy People 2030
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics FastStats Look over "Life Stages and Populations" to uncover population characteristics
MedlinePlus
Look over population demographics

State

Local

Onondaga County Community Health Assessment and Improvement Plan 2019-21
Onondaga County Public Health Department
City Limits Poverty Project (Syracuse) WAER Public Media recently launched “City Limits,” a year-long audio journalism project that examines the living and socio-economic conditions behind the alarming poverty rate in Syracuse.

Other Organizations

National Center for Children in Poverty
From the top navigation bar, you'll find "publications" and "state profiles" particularly useful.

Need help? Contact your librarian!

Anita Kuiken

Email Me

Subjects: Exercise Science, Physical Education, and Movement, Food Studies, Health and Wellness, Human Development and Family Science, Marriage and Family Therapy, Public Health, Nutrition, and Medicine, Social Work, Family and Aging, Sport Management