Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO). SRMO provides access to information about research methods compiled from a variety of Sage publications, including books/handbooks, articles, and the “Little Green Book” series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences. SRMO is searchable and browsable by author, and it includes a methods map, as well as video tutorials. Results can be refined to focus on specific academic disciplines of interest.
Great resource for learning more about what comprises a specific research method, with a view into how that method was applied within actual published scholarly literature.
- analysis of variance (ANOVA)
- focus groups
- mixed methods
- narrative analysis
- qualitative research
- quantitative data analysis
- social network analysis
- structural equation modeling
- time-series analysis
- visual representations
- ...and more
There are a variety of methods you can adopt for your research strategy, depending on your subject area or the outcome of your research. Research methodology will differ depending on whether:
- you are doing an empirical study, using quantitative data or qualitative information, or mixed methods approach
- If you are seeking very current sources, or
- historical research
- critical analysis
Your strategies will be different as will the type of information sources you will seek and find.
See some databases below that offer examples of research methods, datasets or cases:
SAGE Research Methods Online
Information about research methods and design; includes Sage Datasets and Sage Cases, and the qualitative and quantitative methods series, "Little Green Books" and “Little Blue Books.”
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
Datasets for teaching qualitative and quantitative research methods. Datasets are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online, and include sample sets, with a description of the research project and instructions regarding the method.
SU - Office of Research and Integrity
The Office of Research and Integrity provides administrative services to university researchers to facilitate research and ensure regulatory compliance with applicable federal regulations, laws and University policies, including administrative support and regulatory advisement to the University’s Institutional Review Board (IRB) and Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC).
Qualitative Data Repository
QDR selects, ingests, curates, archives, manages, durably preserves, and provides access to digital data used in qualitative and multi-method social inquiry.
Research methods for social sciences