Research Guides: Basic Research Strategies for the Social Sciences: Background Information

Scholarly Encyclopedia

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970868
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

More Online Resources for Background Information

CQ Researcher
An encyclopedia addressing public policy issues.

Encyclopedia of Urban America [electronic resource] : the cities and suburbs
Details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America.

Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Print Sources for Background Information in Sociology

General

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences H41 .I58 2001 v. 1-26

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women HQ 1115 .R69 2000 v. 1-4 REF
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History E 185 E54 2006 v. 1- 6 REF
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States E 184 S75 O97 2005 v. 1-4

Specific to Cities

Encyclopedia of New York City F128.3 .E75 1995 REF

Encyclopedia of New York State F119 .E53 2005 REF

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures HT108.5 .E53 2002 v. 1-4