Research Guides: Basic Research Strategies for the Social Sciences: Journal Articles

Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

How to find Journal Articles

Databases

These are electronic indexes that you can search to locate journal articles, books, and book chapters. To access any of the databases from off campus, you will be prompted for your NETID and password. For additional assistance with this, please go to the instructions for remote access to databases.

Recommended Databases:

For a beginning attempt looking for articles, you might want to
START HERE FIRST:

ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
PsycArticles
Articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe and Huber covering basic, applied, and clinical psychology, animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.

Other relevant databases by type:

General:

JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

Subject Specific:

ERIC (EBSCO)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.

Images:

AP Images Collection
Associated Press images and audio recordings.

Newspapers:

Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
New York State Newspapers
Full-text access to newspapers from New York State.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
US Newsstream
U.S. news content from the 1980s to present, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, and content from the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.