Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

MAR 255: Principles of Marketing (Fall 2023)

Short list of suggested resources for MAR 255

Business, Management, & Entrepreneurship Librarian

Profile Photo
Steph McReynolds
she/her/hers
Contact:
Schedule an Online Meeting

Drop-in Office Hours
Drop in to office hours to ask questions or just say, "Hello!"

  • Whitman Office Hours:
    • Tuesdays, 2:00 to 4:00 pm
    On the first floor of the Whitman School of Management, at a table near the main entrance
    (Note: No office hours on 10/03 and 11/21)

  • LaunchPad Office Hours:
    • Wednesdays, 2:00 to 4:00 pm
    On the first floor of Bird Library, in the Blackstone LaunchPad
    (Note: No office hours on 11/22)
Email Me
If none of the office hours or online meeting times work for you and you would like to schedule an online or in-person meeting, or if you simply want to email a question, please do email me. I will reply to your email as soon as possible, usually that same business day.

However, if my schedule is especially busy that week, it may take one or two business days to receive a reply. If you would like immediate assistance from a library staff person, especially if it is after "business hours," consider using SU Libraries' Get Help options, which include a 24/7 chat service.

Overview

Welcome, MAR 255 students! This guide includes a brief PowerPoint overview of basic library starting points, tips on APA citation style, a sample search log, and a few suggested databases relevant for your coursework.

APA Citation Style and Evaluating Information

Search Log

Article Databases

Company Databases

Industry Databases

Market Research Databases

For guidance on how to use Simmons and interpret Simmons reports and data, view the short video How to use Simmons Insights from the University of Alabama Libraries (which shows a basic Crosstab search using the Simmons Dictionary to find data) and visit this guide on using Simmons from the Bentley University Library (which has short videos on Quick Reports and creating a Crosstab search, as well as links to guides from Simmons on interpreting the reports and data). For more in-depth guidance, visit the Simmons Insights page of the Advertising Guide, which was compiled by SU Librarian for the Newhouse School of Public Communications Michael Pasqualoni.

Visit the  Market Research and Data & Demographics pages of the Business Information Guide for additional resources and search tips.

More Resources

The databases listed above are just a few starting points. Additional relevant resources are available on the following guide: