SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating public relations. Explore the various sections of this guide (including links in the guide's menu bar) for leading examples of these tools.
Communication Source is a leading index of scholarly journal literature in the communication studies fields. Also indexes some leading popular and trade magazines relevant to communications as well. Includes coverage of PR journal titles such as: Public Relations Review, Journal of Public Relations Research, Public Relations Quarterly, Public Relations Research Annual). This database merges together two previously named resources, formerly known as "communication & mass media complete" (ebsco) and "comabstracts" (sage).
The Business Source Elite database covers nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. Includes coverage of the Harvard Business Review
If your research focus strongly emphasizes information and communications technologies, social media platforms, mobile digital technologies and the like, consider also entering search queries in these databases
Weekly trade journal in public relations. Current and back issue articles are available from SU Libraries via various third party database platforms (e.g., the databases Access World News (2013 - 2021) and ABI/Inform (2003 - 2021)). Access World News coverage of articles from both the U.S. and U.K. editions offer the most recent currency, ABI/Inform contains an extensive archive of older PRWeek articles but with a gap in access for the most recent back issues.
Instructions for access via Access World News: From the home page of Access World News, click on the link located toward the top margin labeled A-Z Source List, type in PR Week and then scroll down to access points for both the U.S. and U.K. editions of PR Week.
Keyword search access via SUMMON at https://library.syracuse.edu: As another keyword driven access point to recent or back issue
PR Week articles, click into Summon's advanced search page - select from the pull down menu the option for "publication title" and enter "PR Week" into the adjacent query window, then also click the radio button that says "exact match." Additional search words or phrases of interest can be entered into subsequent query windows, entered as "all fields" searches - or - if you prefer, limiting appearance of such words or phrases to the "abstract" (aka - summary) of the articles you retrieve from PR Week, via SUMMON
PRWeek (U.S.) - Print
Current Issues - 2nd floor, Current Periodicals Section - Bird Library
Back Issues - HD 59 P79 - off-site storage facility (request delivery via the Classic Catalog page for PRWeek (U.S.) - Print )
PRWeek Personal Digital Subscriptions: PR Week digital offers online content in exchange for a free registration, as well as full digital archival access - together with optional premium features - via paid individual subscriptions (as of 2022, a non-discounted full subscription rate is $348/year OR $29/month). But for students with an email address ending in .edu who may choose to purchase a personal digital subscription to PR Week, that is available from that publisher at a substantially discounted annual student subscription rate of $139/year [when deciding whether to make that investment as a student, keep in mind the access to a great many major back issue articles in PR Week magazine are available free of charge, with some gaps as to currency via the databases Access World News and ABI/Inform]. And if one is working in Syracuse, current/recent print editions of PRWeek received into the 2nd floor current periodicals area of Bird Library.
Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "Zotero" or "Mendeley?" Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.
From the American Psychological Association, see their