A sampling of helpful web sites for International Relations study:
AidData - (Partnership between Development Gateway, William & Mary University & Brigham Young University) A Database for global development finance & foreign aid data and analysis, contains development projects financed by numerous donors, with coverage dating back to 1945. Supplements and descriptively expands upon information available via OECDs Creditor Reporting System.
ASIL Guide (American Society of International Law) - Guide to electronic resources on international law.
Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs - A leading voice promoting ethical leadership on issues of war and peace, religion, politics, and global & social justice.
Center for Systemic Peace - Supports scientific research and quantitative analysis in many issue areas related to the fundamental problems of violence in both human relations and societal development.
Council on Foreign Relations - Provides information and analysis about world events and American foreign policy. See CFR's Backgrounders for concise overview articles addressing a variety of political and economic issues.
Gapminder - Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals by increased use and understanding of statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels. Uses Trendalyzer software to show major global development trends with animated statistics.
International Affairs Resources - From Professor Wayne A. Selcher, Elizabethtown College. Over 1000 links to sites on a range of international affairs topics.
International Relations and Security Network - Based at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), provides a variety of full text information on international relations, area studies, international business, security and military studies, comparative studies, and human rights.
NationMaster - Country statistics from a variety of sources. Users can create graphs comparing countries on particular statistics.
OACIS for the Middle East- Online Access to Consolidated Information on Serials. A union catalog of Middle Eastern serial publications compiled by Yale University Library and partner institutions. The aim is to improve access to a wide variety of journal literature that addresses the Middle East. As of May 2014, OACIS project responsibility has shifted to the American University of Beirut.
OFFSTATS - Links to official statistics. Searchable by country, region, topic.
September 11 Digital Archive (City University of NY & George Mason University) - Electronic collection focusing on 9/11/01 (e.g., first hand accounts, images, websites, etc.)
SIPRI databases (Stolkholm International Peace Research Institute) - Information compiled here includes freely downloadable time series data on subjects such as multilateral peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes and arms exports.
10 Downing Street
Biographies, speeches, press releases
Armed Services Committee (U.S. Senate)
Central Intelligence Agency (U.S.)
Department of Defense (U.S.)
Department of Homeland Security (U.S.)
Department of State (U.S)
United Kingdom public sector information
Home page of the European Union
Foreign Affairs Committee (U.S. House of Representatives)
Foreign Relations Committee (U.S. Senate)
How Parliament Works
Brief guide to history and procedures of the U.K. Parliament
The homepage of the IPU, an international organization of the Parliaments of sovereign States, established in 1889. The Union is the focal point for world-wide parliamentary dialogue and works for peace and co-operation among peoples and for the firm establishment of representative democracy
International Trade Administration (U.S. Department of Commerce)
National Security Council (U.S.)
Official Documents from the UK Stationery Office
Many links to full-text documents
Organization of American States (OAS)
Accessible in both English and Spanish. Provides information about both the OAS itself and its individual member states
United Nations Documentation Centre
Links to electronic full text United Nations documents. Use research guide listed below for helpful information relating to these documents
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Overview of the types of documents and publications issued by the UN and guide to their use
United States Intelligence Community
Portal site to all primary government agencies that carry out the intelligence activities of the U.S. government (e.g., CIA, FBI, etc.)
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Homepage (formerly known as: Immigration and Naturalization Service)
The White House
Homepage of the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government
WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
Edited and maintained, by Dr. Wayne A.Selcher, Professor of International Studies Emeritus, Department of Political Science, Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA
International Relations Theory List
Theory of International Relations List is an electronic forum for the scholarly discussion of ideas and issues directly related to International Relations (IR) theory and its research, and for communicating with others involved.