Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries purchases and provides access to a wide variety of information sources (e.g., books, journals, DVDs, electronic resources) in all areas of international relations.
To find out more about all these sources, please explore this page and the links in this guide's menu bar.
Writing & Research
Here are a pair of titles in the Library collection offering guidance on research and writing within political science and international relations.
From the Online Reference Book Collection
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Database BEST BETS
PAIS International [Proquest]
Database references to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international and public affairs (covers 1914 to present). Be sure to explore the many additional options under this guide's IR Databases menu link. Additional examples of databases relevant to the IR discipline include:
In the Reference Collection @ Bird Library
Social Science Librarian
Subjects: African American Studies
, African Studies
, Anthropology and Archaeology
, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility
, East Asian Studies
, European Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Middle Eastern Studies
, Native American and Indigenous Studies
, Political Science
, South Asian Studies
, Women's and Gender Studies