Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York State Education Statistics
New York State School Report Cards
Data reported by school districts in New York State
New York State Dept of Education Office of Assessment Policy, Development and Administration
Includes, Scoring Information, Score Conversion Charts, Teacher Evaluation Forms, and Examination Schedules for elementary and high school; as well as tests for English language learners and for those with cognitive disabilities.
New York State Center for Rural Schools Data Tools
Includes: Prepared NYS maps with School District Boundaries; NYS County Mapping Tool; Interactive Map of NYS’s Legislative Boundaries and School Enrollments, as well as county and school district maps.
The New York State Center for Rural Schools has developed a set of Interactive Data Tools using an Integrated Data System in partnership with Cornell’s Program in Applied Demographics (PAD), the Community and Rural Development Institute (CaRDI), and Prism Decision Systems, with the guidance and financial support of the Rural Schools Association of New York State (RSA). Uses for Data Tools: Create Future Budget Scenarios; Calculate Merger Incentive Aid; Generate Enrollment Projections; Analyze Achievement Gaps. The New York State Center for Rural Schools has developed a set of Interactive Data Tools using an Integrated Data System in partnership with Cornell’s Program in Applied Demographics (PAD), the Community and Rural Development Institute (CaRDI), and Prism Decision Systems, with the guidance and financial support of the Rural Schools Association of New York State (RSA).
U.S. National Education Statistics
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year. Information from the survey generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.
Created as part of the Open Government Initiative, provides access to datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
Education Data Community
This web site serves as a central guide for education data resources including high-value data sets, data visualization tools, resources for the classroom, applications created from open data and more. These datasets have been gathered from various agencies to provide detailed information on the state of education on all levels.
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. This site includes FedStats.
Grapevine - current data
Reports on total state effort for higher education, including tax appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. From the Center for the Study of Educational Policy.
Grapevine - historical data
Annual Grapevine reports since fiscal year 1961
IPEDS Data Center
IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data Survey) provides data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States. For more information visit http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
The 'Nation's Report Card,' the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. NAEP provides comprehensive measure of students' learning at critical junctures in their school experience." (NAEP Guide)
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal agency (within the Department of Education) that collects, analyzes and disseminates educational information from the US and other nations.
National Education Longitudinal Study of 1988 (NELS:88)
A nationally representative sample of eighth-graders were first surveyed in the spring of 1988. A sample of these respondents were then resurveyed through four follow-ups in 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2000. On the questionnaire, students reported on a range of topics including: school, work, and home experiences; educational resources and support; the role in education of their parents and peers; neighborhood characteristics; educational and occupational aspirations; and other student perceptions.
NCES Digest of Education Statistics
Provides a compilation of statistical information covering American education from pre-K through graduate school. Data comes from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the NCES. Including information on the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
U.S. Census: Education - Data
From the U. S. Census -- Education data sites
U. S. Census School Enrollment Data
Data presented is collected annually in the October Current Population Survey (CPS) for the Nation.
International Education Statistics
UNESCO - NESIS Statistical Information System
National Education Statistical Information Systems (NESIS), launched in 1991, is the action programme of the Working Group on Education Statistics (WGES), one of the eleven working groups of the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA).
World Data on Education (from UNESCO)
Various international data-sets and reports by the International Bureau of Education at UNESCO (United Nations)
How to Find School District Budget Data
The first thing you need to do is to use the left column to narrow down to School Finance – Amount by Line Item. In Data Planet use the left column and click on the yellow highlighted links just like in the image below so that you can narrow down to School Finance and select Amount by Line Item.
At this point Please see the image below.
You want to select Year, Education Agency, New York, and Onondaga. (Or Select the State and County of your interest.) Select the school district you want in the far right column.
This will give you budget data. The actually budget figures are cut off of the image below, but you will see them when you do this search.
Syracuse University Resources for Statistics
China Data Online
Statistical data related to China, including census, spatial data, charts, and maps.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.
My thanks to Tasha Cooper for her initial listing and description of these resources.