Skip to main content

Tests and Measures: Test Resources for Education

Educational Test and Assessment Resources

American Psychological Association's Testing and Assessment Page
Features a trove of information on tests and testing, and is designed for professionals. Page contains links to testing standards resources, including a page dedicated to the "Rights and Responsibilities of Test Takers: Guidelines and Expectations."

American Psychological Association's FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
Linked from the APA's main Testing and Assessment Page, this page features guidance for finding information on published and unpublished tests and measures.

Buros Institute of Mental Measures
Buros is one of the biggest names in testing and assessment, and their resources are useful for educators, psychologists and the general public. The Mental Measurements Yearbook volumes may be requested from the Facility. The institute publishes the Mental Measures Yearbook and Tests in Print, and this website features information on how to use and cite from these resources. Also, the Buros website contains many other resources-including articles and research reports-on the subject of testing and assessment.

Center for the Study of Testing, Evaluation, and Educational Policy (CSTEEP)
CSTEEP is a part of the Boston College in the School of Education, and the center conducts research on testing, evaluation, assessment and comparative research relating specifically to educational testing. This site contains resources relating to CSTEEP projects whose resources and research are relevant to all educational settings.

ETS Test Collection Database
The ETS Test Collection is a database of 25,000 "tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present." The SU Libraries owns this collection in microfiche.  Use the ETS Test Collection database to identify the test you want.
How to Search the ETS Tests database and request a test in microfiche from the Libraries’ Facility

Internet Resources for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment
This North Carolina State University site features a massive and annotated listing of assessment websites relating to higher education. Individual institutions are featured, as well as links to general resources, assessment handbooks, accrediting bodies and student assessment of courses and faculty.

Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments

From University of Michigan Library - a helpful guide to finding tests.

 

How to Search the ETS Tests database and request a test in microfiche from the Libraries’ Facility.

How to Search the ETS Tests database and request a test in microfiche from the Libraries’ Facility

 

  1. From the ETS Test Collection site, click on Find a Test in the left column.
  2. Click on Search the Test Link database.
  3. Select Advanced Search.
  4. In the Order Information search box type downloadable.
  5. Add another search parameter to narrow the search.

ETS Test Collection Search Box

  1. Click Search.
  2. You will need the Call Number (e.g. TC024302) and Title to request the test from the Libraries’ Facility.

ETS Test Collection Search Results

  1. Click on the title of the results list to view descriptors and abstract.
  2. Use the Facility Retrieval Request form to have the microfiche sent to the 1st Floor Bird Library Service Desk.  Microfiche readers/printers are available on the 3rd Floor of Bird Library