Books - Communications - Online Master of Science Program - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

eBooks

eBooks can be discovered by entering search queries into the advanced SU Libraries search page.

IMPORTANT ACCESS NOTE FOR FALL SEMESTER 2024: The introduction of SU Libraries Search as of late summer, 2024 - involves some continuing migration of electronic resource content into that search environment. If seeking a comprehensive search through as many relevant ebooks and ebook chapters as possible, do not limit your search queries to SU Libraries Search (unless seeking exclusively physical sources only), but instead, also include searches within several specific eBook collections supported by SU Libraries

When using Libraries Search

Remember to apply resource type search result refinements such as - "books/ebooks" and also "book chapter"
To limit what you see exclusively to eBooks, click the search result limit option labeled "available online"
Also explore other non-book resource type categories (e.g., articles, images, video. manuscripts and archival materials, etc.)

When entering general genre or topic or subiect related queries into SU Libraries Search, additional search result refinement categories to pay attention to at the left margin search results, include:

Resource Type
Date(s) (e.g., do you seek a specific date range OR do you wish to sort your results in ascending or descending chronological order?)
Subject (e.g., photography, photographers, photojournalism, motion pictures, etc.)
Language
Library

If you prefer to explore specific large eBook databases individually, here is a list of SU Libraries eBook collections Examples of specific eBook platforms of potential interest to many Newhouse School students include -

Bloomsbury Collections
Select academic books published by Bloomsbury. Limited titles available.
Cambridge Core
Access to journals and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press, covering sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Duke University Press Books
Books from Duke University Press covering areas across the arts, humanities, social sciences, area studies, media studies, politics, and more.
EBSCO ebooks
Books covering a wide range of subjects, from many publishers
Gale Ebooks
Books including subject encyclopedias, handbooks and guides, covering many subject disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and medicine.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Oxford Academic
Full-text journals and books published by Oxford University Press. Includes Oxford Handbooks, Oxford Scholarship, and Oxford Journals.
ProQuest eBook Central
Create a sign-in to get access to all feature
Books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Richard K. Miller and Associates Publications
Richard K. Miller and Associates consumer and market research reports on entertainment, food, health care, leisure, sports, and more.
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Screen Studies
Screenplays and scholarly books covering filmmaking, film history, screenwriting, and film studies. Includes titles from Bloomsbury, Faber and Faber, and several book series from the British Film Institute.
Springer ebooks
Full-text ebooks published by Springer from across the sciences, mathematics, engineering, business, social sciences, and humanities. Includes titles from Springer, Palgrave McMillan, Lecture Notes in Mathematics, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, as well as Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Access to select academic books published by Taylor & Francis, includes titles published by CRC Press, Routledge, and Apple Academic Press.
University of Michigan Press eBooks
Ebooks in the humanities and social sciences with particular focus in performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies (especially disability and class studies), Asian and African studies. These books are made available to libraries through the press’s own publishing platform, Fulcrum.

Scholarly Encyclopedia

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970868
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

Google Scholar

Many researchers use free tools like Google Scholar (GS) to identify helpful books or journal articles. Check the Library's online SU Libraries Search tool and/or Journals A-Z List (aka - 'Find a Journal") for availability at Syracuse. If not at SU, consider submitting an interlibrary loan request via the library's ILLIAD service.