More Databases & Datasets - Communications - Online Master of Science Program - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

eMarketer

Insider Intelligence eMarketer

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more. The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews. Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis. Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year. Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

Additional Databases

Business sources - including industry snapshots, company profiles, consumer survey data and trade journal literature:

Media Law

Westlaw Campus Research
Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources.
Nexis Uni
Offers substantial coverage for most major U.S. newspaper text for recent decades (excluding Wall Street Journal), and extensive access to U.S. legal cases for both the federal and state court systems. Some international law, and international news sources also available. Contains helpful search filters to limit news search results to source categories that include: ---US/International Newspapers---Radio and TV Broadcast Transcripts---Blogs---Web Publications---Newswires and Press Releases.

Psychological, social and/or political aspects of communications:

Racial, ethnic and women's perspectives:

Black Life in America
News content from U.S. and global news sources, including African American publications, covering topics such as voting rights, voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice, discrimination, activism and protest movements.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Interdisciplinary scholarly journal repository:

JSTOR
For some journal sources here, coverage can stretch back to the 19th Century-thus, an interesting source for thoughtful historical discussion of communications theory and practice.

Popular newspaper and magazine sources:
- See also SU Libraries research guide portal for "Newspaper Databases"

ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
All NYT articles, fully imaged, from 1851 to within 3 to 4 years of the current date. For comprehensive access to all database options for viewing back issue NYT articles, 1851 through present, visit the SU Libraries' New York Times subject guide. That guide also contains information about 50% personal subscription discounts to the Digital New York Times to which all currently affiliated Syracuse University students are entitled.
Wall Street Journal
Full text of articles from the Wall Street Journal. For comprehensive access to all options for viewing back issue WSJ articles covering 1889 through present (spans multiple third party databases), type "wall street journal" into the SU Libraries' Journal Locator.
PressReader
(Proquest) Vivid full color image versions of selected U.S. and international newspapers. 3000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages. Maintains a 60 to 90 day rolling archive for most titles. For some titles/articles, the audio "interactive radio" feature will read that article content aloud, in the original language.
Access World News
(Newsbank) Archive of U.S. and international news content. Especially strong in its coverage of smaller, local and regional U.S. newspapers.

Access World News Access Tip: Access World News (Newsbank) has been expanding its range of full page imaged newspaper archives of current and recent content, with titles like The Guardian, The Independent, and more local to the SU Hill, Syracuse Post-Standard. A handy way to see all such page imaged newspaper collections from the Access World News homepage is to click on the A-Z Source List, then click on the column heading for "Format" so that the format type called "image" sorts the page imaged newspaper titles toward the top of that A to Z list.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com
New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
National, regional, and local newspapers published around the 1920s in the United States, documenting the voices of multiple organizations that either opposed or supported white supremacy and nationalism.
Independent Voices
Open access alternative press and underground newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s to 1980s, including feminist, LGBT, minority, campus, community, GI, right-wing, and small literary presses.

Media Intelligence Center (Alliance for Audited Media)
Data on readership, demographics, circulation and digital activity for North American newspaper and magazine publications. A helpful tool for media planning, buying and market comparisons.

Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Reports

In addition to powerful market research databases like:

Mintel Reports

and

MarketResearch.com Academic

SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from:

Richard K. Miller and Associates Publications

These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include:

Entertainment, Media and Advertising
Consumer Behavior
International Consumer Markets
Health Care Business Market
Leisure Market Research
Restaurant Food & Beverage Market
Sports Marketing
Travel & Tourism Market Research

Sage Data

Sage Data
Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.

SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS Media Solutions
A directory and media planning resource consisting of online directories in television, digital, radio broadcasting and newspaper and magazine print media. In addition to providing local market profiles, categories now available in SRDS include websites, programmatic and networks & tech. SRDS also offers an analysis tool for exploring local markets (aka: "local market audience analyst").

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.