General Social Sciences:
General Humanities:
- Humanities Full Text
Full-text access to articles in journals covering Communications, Folklore, Gender Studies, Journalism, Literary & Social Criticism, and Literature.
- JSTOR
Full-text articles from over 1,300 journals in Language and Literature, African American Studies, Film Studies, British Studies, and Folklore and many other areas.
Communities and Cultures:
- eHraf World Cultures
A cross-cultural database with reference works on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text of newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
- LGBT+ Source
Provides access to literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
- AgeLine
Includes literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
- Race Relations Abstracts
Despite the name, this database includes many full text articles related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas (make sure to click "Linked Full Text" when you search).
- GenderWatch
indexes publications that focus on gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Geography and Environment:
- GreenFILE
Multidisciplinary; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines.
- Science.gov
Gateway to numerous authoritative scientific databases and websites provided by U.S. Government agencies, including the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
- CQ Researcher
Consists of reports on public policy issues including environment, health and nutrition, education, international affairs, economics, and science and technology.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer allows the researcher to make maps and reports, visually analyze, explore and understand the current and historical demography of the Untied States.
- American Community Survey
A community-specific resource on the U.S. Census Bureau website
Education:
Provides indexing of periodicals and yearbook articles of at least one column in length and dating from 1983 or later, abstracting of those dating from Jan. 1994, Select full text of those dating from Jan. 1996. Also covers English language books published after 1994.
Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
Current and Historical Mass-Media Coverage:
Full-text local and regional newspapers, offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Communication Source
Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- NexisUni
Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for FoxNews. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers
One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch, US Newsstream and International Newsstream. ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
- NewspaperArchive.com
Hundreds of pages imaged U.S. historical newspapers, this collection also includes various Syracuse newspapers dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage for other titles sometimes reaches into the 1700's. Primarily United States publications, with a few non-U.S. newspapers included. Publisher recommends Chrome or Safari as a browser and that IE, Firefox and other browsers work, but features can be limited depending on a researcher’s specific browser version and plug-in settings.
Film, Television, Music, and Performance:
- FIAF: Index to Film Periodicals Plus FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
- Rock's Backpages Library Online archive of rock music writing, including articles and reviews, from the 1960's to the present. Coverage includes all types of popular music, from Abba to Zappa. Fully searchable by artist, date and genre.
- International Index To Music Periodicals Full Text An index with full-text and abstracts of articles on music. Includes indexing for music articles and obituaries from the New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
- Film & Television Literature Index Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
