Skip to Main Content
Online Reference Resources
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Define words and trace their development with "the definitive record of the English language" (choose Enter OED Online)
-
- CREDOReference
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, including A Dictionary of Literary Symbols, The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature and many others.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text of relevant reference books including The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English, and A Dictionary of Writers and their Works.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Consists of reports on public policy issues. Over 44 reports are released each year, providing in-depth coverage of social and political issues with reports on topics in environment, health and nutrition, education, international affairs, economics, and science and technology. Each report focuses on a single topic and features concise background discussion and chronologies, overviews of the current situation, pro and con commentary, as well as online links to relevant organizations, and a lengthy bibliography of related books and articles. Covers 1923-present.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides entries containing biographical information, critical summaries, and references for further reading on the work of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers from all eras and genres.
- Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographic information on more than 130,000 active and influential authors. Includes biographical sketches, lists of author's works, and citations for further readings on the authors. CA is updated bi-weekly with revisions and new entries.
Writing Guides & Style Manuals
- Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Provides commonsense guidance on grammar and punctuation. Sub-chapters on common problems: e.g., subject/verb agreement, hyphens, apostrophes, etc.
- The OWL at Purdue
- Guides for Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, and all the major style guides.
- The Elements of Style
Based on William Strunk, Jr.'s 1998 reference book, this site covers rules of usage, principles of composition, and other helpful writing tips.
SU Libraries Citation Guide
Guidance on numerous academic source citation styles - including additional styles beyond APA and MLA