Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedias and Handbooks will give you a great overview of a given topic. They will also help you develop terminology useful for searching across more narrowly focused articles (via databases tab).
Please note: the databases listed here search across eBook collections relevant to Public Health.
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (print) by
Call Number: HV6017 .E5243 2016 (print)
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Encyclopedia of Social Work by Welcome to Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: continuously updated edition
The Handbook of Research on Black Males by Drawing from the work of top researchers in various fields, The Handbook of Research on Black Males explores the nuanced and multifaceted phenomena known as the black male. Simultaneously hyper-visible and invisible, black males around the globe are being investigated now more than ever before; however, many of the well-meaning responses regarding media attention paid to black males are not well informed by research. Additionally, not all black males are the same, and each of them have varying strengths and challenges, making one-size-fits-all perspectives unproductive. This text, which acts as a comprehensive tool that can serve as a resource to articulate and argue for policy change, suggest educational improvements, and advocate judicial reform, fills a large void. The contributors, from multidisciplinary backgrounds, focus on history, research trends, health, education, criminal and social justice, hip-hop, and programs and initiatives. This volume has the potential to influence the field of research on black males as well as improve lives for a population that is often the most celebrated in the media and simultaneously the least socially valued.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Social Work with Groups, Second Edition by This definitive text, now revised and expanded, has introduced thousands of students and practitioners to the theory and practice of social work with groups. Leading authorities outline major models of group work and address critical issues in planning, implementing, and evaluating interventions. The Handbook describes applications in all the major practice settings--mental health, prevention, child welfare, substance abuse, health care, aging, corrections, and more--as well as organizational and community settings. A strong focus on empowerment, social justice, and diversity is woven throughout. The empirical foundations of group work are reviewed, and innovative research methods discussed. New to This Edition: *Incorporates over a decade of advances in the field *Heightened focus on practitioner-researcher collaboration. *Two chapters on substance abuse prevention with youth. *Chapters on social justice work, evidence-based practice, offender reentry, intimate partner violence, intergroup dialogue, working with immigrants and refugees, qualitative methods, and intervention research. *Major updates on existing topics, such as cognitive-behavioral group work, psychoeducational groups, health care settings, and technology-mediated groups. *Integrative epilogue that synthesizes key themes.
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook on Society and Social Policy by This comprehensive Handbook provides a unique examination of the key issues and challenges facing society and social policy in the twenty-first century. Featuring both wide-ranging coverage of major issues and detailed analysis of social policies in different countries, the Handbook explores key concepts, policy areas and institutions, considering welfare and social policy in the context of wider socio-economic and cultural divisions. In addition to examining specific policy areas, contributors engage with the social divisions and complex infrastructures that underpin them on both local and global scales. Chapters also discuss significant challenges to contemporary social policy, including the threats to human and societal wellbeing posed by austerity, migration and the climate crisis, as well as the opportunities these present to reshape policy conceptually, ideologically and practically in the future in response to these issues. Scholars and students in social policy, sociology and political science looking for a comprehensive overview of the field of social policy will find this Handbook an invaluable resource. It will also prove useful to researchers and practitioners seeking in-depth analyses of particular countries or policy areas covered. Contributors include:E. Adamson, H. Bochel, D. Byrne, M. Calnan, B. Cantillon, H. Dean, C. Deeming, A. Dinham, F. Dukelow, B. Ebbinghaus, D. Edmiston, N. Ellison, K. Farnsworth, D. Finn, J.L. Garritzmann, M. Griffiths, P. Hall, K. Hamblin, T. Haux, A.J. He, E. Hogg, G. Huang, B. Hvinden, G.-J. Hwang, J. Javornik, R. Jawad, J. Jenson, H. Johannson, A. Kaasch, M. Kitzmann, M. Koch, K. Kuitto, S. Kuivalainen, Z. Li, E.V. Lomelí, N. Meer, N. Morel, K. Nakray, C. Needham, T. Newburn, L. Panico, T. Papadopoulos, N. Pleace, T. Reeskens, E. Righard, A. Roumpakis, M.A. Schoyen, C.B. Solano, M. Spång, A. Vlachantoni, Y. Yang
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Routledge Handbook of European Welfare Systems by Published ten years after the first edition, this new Handbook offers topical, and comprehensive information on the welfare systems of all 28 EU member states and their recent reforms, giving the reader an invaluable introduction and basis for comparative welfare research. Additional chapters provide detailed information on EU social policy, as well as comparative analyses of European welfare systems and their reform pathways. For this second edition, all chapters have been updated and substantially revised, and Croatia additionally included. The second edition of this Handbook is most timely, given the often-fundamental welfare state transformations against the background of the financial and economic crises, transforming social policy ideas, as well as political shifts in a number of European countries. The book sets out to analyse these new developments when it comes to social policy. In the first part, all country chapters provide systematic and comparable information on the foundations of the different national welfare systems and their characteristics. In the second part, using a joint conceptual foundation, they focus on policy changes (especially of the last two decades) in different social policy areas, including old-age, labour market, family, healthcare, and social assistance policies. As the comparative chapters conclude, European welfare system landscapes have been in constant motion in the last two decades. While austerity is not to be seen on the aggregate level, the in-depth country studies show that all policy sectors have been characterised by different reform directions and ideas. The findings not only reveal both change and continuity, but also policy reversal as a distinct type that characterises social policy reform. The book provides a rich resource to the international welfare state research community, and is also useful for social policy teaching.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Social Work Essentials by In honor of the 60th anniversary of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) and the 50th anniversary of the groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Social Work, NASW Press and Oxford University Press are proud to publish Social Work Essentials. Since the launch of the Encyclopedia of SocialWork Online in 2013, over 100 articles have been revised and over 150 new articles have been published online. This volume brings together selected new and revised articles along with a few core, unrevised articles from the 2008 print version in a brief reference guide for the social workprofession. Covering a range of theoretical and practice orientations, this collection provides both fundamental knowledge for the profession and timely updates on the knowledge needed for social work practice.
Call Number: HV40 .S617826 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Databases Containing Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Academic books published by Edward Elgar Publishing. Limited titles available.
IGI Global InfoSci-Educational Science and Technology
IGI Global books on information science and educational technologies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
includes subject area dedicated to social work topics
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Full-text ebooks published by Springer from across the sciences, mathematics, engineering, business, social sciences, and humanities. Includes titles from Springer and Palgrave McMillan as well as Lecture Notes in Mathematics and Lecture Notes in Computer Science.