Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Resources for Racial Justice: Home

Introductory Statement

This guide was created in June 2020, in response to the continued systemic oppression, racism, and police brutality being perpetrated against Black people in Minneapolis and across our nation. Please read the Statement From the Dean and Syracuse University Libraries Diversity and Inclusion Team (June 4, 2020) for context. This evolving compilation of readings and resources, including links to local and national advocacy organizations, may serve as a starting point and reminder of how to continue the work of combating anti-Black racism and systemic oppression.

Guide Table of Contents

The sections of this guide provides links to a number of resources, including:

  1. Anti-Racism Recommended Readings: includes readings within our collections and other compiled book lists.
  2. Anti-Racism Non-Print Media: includes films, documentaries, television series, and podcasts
  3. Anti-Racism Resources for Educators and Parents: includes syllabi, curricular resources, and children's book lists
  4. Take Action, Get Involved: includes funds, petitions, Black-owned businesses, and resources for protestors
  5. Local Resources and Organizations: includes local and regional organizations
  6. Support Resources for Affected BIPOC Communities: includes mental health and wellness resources for Black, indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC)

We owe our gratitude to these additional compilations, as well as the labor of their respective authors in creating them; their work helped to inform many of the resources listed included within this guide:

Note that this evolving compilation is not an exhaustive list of resources, but potential starting points for your own self-education. We strongly encourage you to do the work to continually self-educate yourself, to reflect, and to take actions beyond what is offered here.

Black Lives Matter

Black and white photo of protesters holding up a Black Lives Matter sign

From the BLM website: "#BlackLivesMatter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer. Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives."

Video: What The World Needs to Know about Black Lives Matter (from the Huffington Post) [2:21]

Acknowledgements

On behalf of the Syracuse University Libraries Diversity and Inclusion Team,

Tarida Anantachai, Lead Librarian, Department of Learning and Academic Engagement (Co-Chair)

Nicole Westerdahl, Reference and Access Services Librarian, SCRC (Co-Chair)

Kate Deibel, Inclusion and Accessibility Librarian

Sarah Duncan, Access Services Supervisor

Stephanie McReynolds, Librarian for Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship

Jessica Rice, Preservation Lab Supervisor

Daniel Sarmiento, Director of Administration