Background sources help broaden an understanding of a topic and expose you to new/different terminology that will be useful in searching databases or the web. Formats include encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials.
Handbook of the Economics of the Family by
Handbook of the Economics of the Family, Volume One includes comprehensive surveys of the current state of the economics literaure in the field, prepared by leading scholars, with a particular empahsis on the most recent developments in each area. Chapters cover Culture and the family; Mating markets; Household decisions and intra-household distributions; The economics of fertility: a new era; Families, labor markets, and policy; Family background, neighborhoods, and intergenerational mobility; The great transition: Kuznets facts for family-economists; An institutional perspective on the economics of the family.
Handbook of Transnational Families Around the World by
This handbook compiles the most up-to-date research on transnational families. It employs a dialogue between classical approaches and cutting-edge directions in transnational family research to identify continuities and changes in terms of socioeconomic disparities and actors, and to analyze coexistence. Further, the volume adopts a twofold global and international comparative perspective. On the one hand, it focuses on different migratory flows around the world and describes their entangled logics; on the other, it is written by an international group of contributors, with a diverse range of professional backgrounds. Their contributions are based on sound empirical research, and explore geographical regions around the world. The handbook presents different thematic perspectives on transnational families, including an analytical focus on gender, global sociodemographic inequalities, power asymmetries, and border- and mobility regimes, as well as the organizationof transnational care, transnational fatherhood, ageing, family reunions and return. It also includes a variety of methodological approaches to transnational family research, ranging from ethnography, biographical research, and life-course methods, to multi-sited approaches and quantitative surveys. Investigating an emergent debate, it sheds new light on migratory fluxes, their common and specific determinants, the types of actors involved, and ways to empirically and methodologically approach them. This is a must-read reference for social scientists interested in family research, migration, and gender studies. Chapter 7 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Oxford Handbook of Child Protection Systems by
Over 30 years ago, the United Nations developed the Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC), heralding the importance of protecting children from a range of human rights violations. Among these are the right to be free from abuse and neglect at the hands of parents or other caregivers, and the responsibility of states to devise a protective response. How nations conceptualize harm and even how they define childhood varies markedly across the globe. This Handbook describes and analyzes the ways in which 50 countries from every continent, except Antarctica, have devised measures for child protection emphasized in the UNCRC. The Handbook discusses the legislative responses, public administrative systems, and the social service networks that governments have put in place to secure the protection of children against maltreatment and exploitation. Synthesizing data from across the world, the authors suggest a global typology of child protection systems for understanding the diversity of service responses. The typology consists of five ideal types that have as their emphasis protection against an array of risks to childhood and that represent the focal point for government intervention in the lives of families. They include child exploitation protective systems, child deprivation protective systems, child maltreatment protective systems, child well-being protective systems, and child rights protective systems. The Handbook is a valuable resource for researchers, students, and policymakers attempting to craft thoughtful state responses to children's needs
The Oxford Handbook of Family Policy over the Life Course by
The Handbook examines contemporary trends and issues in the formation of families over the different stages of the life cycle and how they interact with family-oriented social policies of modern welfare states, mainly in the OECD countries of Western Europe, East Asia and the U.S. Focusing largely on family needs in the early stages of the life course, the conventional package of policies tends to emphasize programs and benefits clustered around measures to support marriage, childbearing, care, the reconciliation of employment and childcare during the preschool years. Drawing on a multidisciplinary group of experts from many countries, this book extends the conventional perspective on family policy by also looking at later phases of the family life course. In taking a life course perspective, this Handbook extends the purview to encompass five main stages of family life. These are (1) cohabitation; (2) marriage and starting a family; (3) the early years of parenting, care and employment; (4) the period of transitions and later life, not only the empty nest, but also adversities that lead to family breakdown; and (5) aging and intergenerational supports.
Research Handbook on the Sociology of the Family by
Exploring how family life has radically changed in recent decades, this comprehensive Research Handbook tracks the latest developments and trends in scholarly work on the family. With a particular focus on the European context, it addresses current debates and offers insights into key topics including: the division of housework, family forms and living arrangements, intergenerational relationships, partner choice, divorce and fertility behaviour. Bringing together contributions from leading family sociologists, the Research Handbook examines important questions: have family patterns across different countries become more similar, or have differences between countries and social groups increased over time? How diverse are family forms across different countries? How do conventional theories explain these patterns? And what are the major innovations in theorising and describing family behaviour? In order to resolve these key points, the chapters provide an overview of past and present developments in scholarly work on European families. They also present concise overviews of theories, methods, critical debates, empirical findings and pathways for future research. Its analysis of important areas of research in the field will make this Research Handbook a valuable resource for scholars and students of sociology, demography, and family and gender policy. It will also be beneficial for policy experts in these fields.
Routledge Handbook of Family Law and Policy 2nd Edition by
Changes in family structures, demographics, social attitudes and economic policies over the last sixty years have had a large impact on family lives and correspondingly on family law. The second edition of this Handbook draws upon recent developments to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date global perspective on the policy challenges facing family law and policy round the world.The chapters apply legal, sociological, demographic and social work research to explore the most significant issues that have been commanding the attention of family law policy-makers in recent years. Featuring contributions from a range of renowned global experts, the book draws on multiple jurisdictions and offers comparative analysis across a range of countries. The book addresses a range of issues including the role of the state in supporting families and protecting the vulnerable, children's rights and parental authority, sexual orientation, same-sex unions and gender in family law, the status of marriage and other forms of adult relationships. It also focuses on divorce and separation and their consequences, the relationship between civil law and the law of minority groups, refugees, migrants and movement of family members between jurisdictions along with assisted conception, surrogacy and adoption. This advanced level reference work will be essential reading for students, researchers and scholars of family law and social policy as well as policy makers in the field.
