Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases Addressing the Classical Period
Produced by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique. A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works on all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, including early Christian texts and patristics; history and archaeology; art and music; religion and mythology; philosophy; science; and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. Includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian.
Brill's New Jacoby
The online edition of BNJ includes the original three parts of Felix Jacoby's "Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker," a collection, with critical commentaries, of fragments of works by 856 Greek historians whose writings have survived in only fragmentary form. In addition to offering fully searchable access to over 12,000 fragments published in the original "Jacoby," BNJ Online contains fragments of works by authors omitted from the original print edition.
Brill's New Pauly
"The New Pauly is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and ... world history." This is an "online version of: Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, and: Brill’s New Pauly (included as English volumes become available)." "Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation." Syracuse University Library's subscription includes: Brill's New Jacoby; Brill's New Pauly; Der Neue Pauly; Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker; and the Encyclopaedia of Islam.
Classics in Oxford Bibliographies Online
"The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well established critical literature, but is also a highly active field responding to the emergence of new discoveries, interpretations, and theories. In addition to a vast body of scholarship, classical studies has been quick to move online so that today's students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources."
"Contains many different kinds of manuscripts, archives and documents. ... There are more than 600 Greek manuscripts ranging in date from the 9th century to the 18th century ... They include manuscripts from the British Library’s Additional, Harley, Arundel and Royal manuscript collections ... and include some of the highlights of the Library's collections."
Loeb Classical Library
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press ... presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease."
POLIS (Stanford University)
"This site [produced by the Stanford University Classics Department and hosted by Stanford University Libraries] allows scholars and students of classical Greek (and to some extent Roman) history to visualize data about Places (especially archaic and classical Greek city-states) and People (those famous enough to be included in a standard Classical dictionary) from two large data-sets, and to generate maps and simple statistical information from them."
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A digital library that contains most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
Databases Addressing the Medieval Period
An electronic version of the complete printed text of the Acta Sanctorum, a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. From the 68-volume edition published by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels, running from two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. Contains all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, and indices along with Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers.
Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
“A searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library ... [which] holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world ... The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials.”
"The Harley Science Project ... makes available images and descriptions of 150 medieval and modern scientific manuscripts from the British Library’s Harley collection. ... The manuscripts selected for the project range in date from the 9th century to the 17th century, and are written in a variety of European languages (including Latin, Old and Middle English, Middle Dutch, Anglo-Norman and Old French, German, Irish, Italian and Spanish). They comprise texts relating to early scientific knowledge, such as astronomy, astrology, the computus, mathematics, physics, botany, medicine and veterinary science."
The Royal Illuminated Manuscripts Collection "preserves the medieval and Renaissance library of the kings and queens of England, and includes some of the most important examples of medieval painting of both English and Continental origin that survive in illuminated manuscripts."
Epistolæ: Medieval Women's Letters
A collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th centuries, presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation. Organized by the names and biographies of the women writers or recipients, and supplemented with biographical sketches, descriptions of letters' subject matter, and contextual historical information.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index (University of Iowa)
Compiled by librarians and scholars since July 1996. Provides coverage of current journal articles, book reviews, and essays within books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages, including products of interdisciplinary scholarship.
Index of Medieval Art
"The most important archive of medieval art in existence and the most specialized resource for the iconographer," covering early Christian and medieval art objects from the period to 1400. This on-line version of the archive, which was established at Princeton University in 1917, includes works indexed since 1991.
International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages
"Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 signed articles written by 3,000 authors cover all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds." Accompanied by a supplement, the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA).
International Medieval Bibliography-Online
Index to journal articles and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften). Covers publications from 1967-present with enhanced search capabilities (by periods, places, persons, and texts).
Contains on-line resources for research and teaching about the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases. Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Also provides access to an international directory of scholars.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online
A collection of state papers, chronicles, accounts, and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe which offers resources for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800). Addresses political, ecclesiastical, social, economic, and cultural issues.
Medieval Studies in Oxford Bibliographies Online
"The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines from history to English literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider."
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
Contains the text and translation (from Latin, Anglo-Norman, or Middle English) of the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272-1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485-1509). All surviving records of the parliaments are provided in full with scholarly introductions.
"An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes."