Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Africa Studies
South African produced index including journals, books, and documents covering Africa and African studies. Content includes the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, from the National Library of Namibia.
British Online Archives - African Blue Books, 1821 – 1953
Part of the British Online Archives, this collection of primary source materials includes statistics for 13 African colonies from 1821-1953, data describing the business of governing colonial Africa.
British Online Archives - Annual Departmental Reports relating to Kenya, 1907-1964
Part of the British Online Archives, this collection of primary source materials includes reports of government departments of Kenya when it was an East African Colony, covering 1907 until Independence in 1964.
Resources for Middle Eastern Studies
Newsletter covering political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces from media of countries in the Mideast.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Index to research related to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, from 1900 to present.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Articles, primary source documents, timelines, and images related to Islamic Studies; includes translations of the Qur'an and A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis.
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009
"This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II ... up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program."
Resources for Asian Studies
Archives of the Chinese Government
Archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. This material has been drawn from the official sources of the National People’s Congress and the National Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. Note: Content is available in simplified Chinese only.
Archives of the Communist Party of China
Archives and publications of the Communist Party of China since its establishment in 1921. Includes material from official sources such as the People's Daily Press, the Party Literature Research Office of the CPC Central Committee, the National People's Congress, and the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference. Note: Content is available in simplified Chinese only.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange
Includes correspondence, photographs, logbooks, and newspapers addressing trade between China and North America from the 18th to the early 20th century.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Offers documents, including letters, papers, illustrations, and maps, covering events in China from the 18th to the 20th century.
East India Company
Primary-source material covering the history of the East India Company, which originated as a 16th-century trading venture to the East Indies and at its peak became the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, controlling “over a quarter of the world’s trade and millions of the global populace.” Documents such as minutes of council meetings and council resolutions, charters, texts of legislation, correspondence, and printed books address subjects such as agriculture; courts and legal affairs; diplomacy, treaties and ambassadorial expeditions; railways; trade; and warfare and military matters. A handwritten text recognition feature enables full text searching across manuscript documents; a data visualization feature, with interactive maps and graphs, supports analysis of trade statistics.
India, Raj & Empire
Offers digital facsimiles of official and private papers, letters, diaries and journals, literary works, sketches, and paintings, material dating from 1710 to 1937 that has been drawn the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland. Addresses the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as viceroys, governors-general, military officers, East India Company officials, traders, and missionaries.
Chinese works, especially those related to Chinese history.