Research Guides: History: Newspaper Sources

Newspaper Databases

African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
African American newspapers published during the 1800s; includes full page image content.
African American Newspapers Series I and II
African American newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998.
America's Historical Newspapers
Page image historical American newspapers covering 1690-1876, and titles included in Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, with post 1820 content from the American Antiquarian Society.
American Underworld: The Flash Press
Newspapers from 1826-1876, covering topics such as crime, sports, urban life scandal, and more, from the American Antiquarian Society collections.
Caribbean Newspapers
Newspapers published throughout the Caribbean between 1718 and 1876.
Chicago Defender Archive
Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-2010

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program." "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
National, regional, and local newspapers published around the 1920s in the United States, documenting the voices of multiple organizations that either opposed or supported white supremacy and nationalism.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Hispanic American newspapers published in the United States from 1808 to 1980.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. From the collections at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas. Key topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, tribal laws and elections, sovereignty, and more.
Liberator, 1831-1865
Searchable full-text version of The Liberator, an antebellum, anti-slavery newspaper published in chronological parts. Published in Boston, Massachusetts, by William Lloyd Garrison.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 1998.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Known globally for its coverage of business and economics. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Service newspapers from the British Library; Imperial War Museums; US Army Heritage and Education Center, US Army War College; Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand; Berlin State Library - Prussian Cultural Heritage.
US Newsstream
U.S. news content from the 1980s to present, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, and content from the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Periodical Databases

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
For access to Series 2-5, select title above, go to Choose Databases link, change selected series, and choose OK.
Archival collection from the American Antiquarian Society of magazines and journals in five series: Series I: 1691 -1820; Series II: 1821-1837; Series III: 1838-1852; Series IV: 1852-1865; Series V: 1866 through 1877.
American Periodicals Series Online
18th and 19th century American newspapers and periodicals.
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
Index of art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907), covering artists, illustrators, painting, sculpture, architecture photography and more, and including illustrations, poems, advertisements and other content.
Index to Early American Periodicals
Index to periodical published in the United States in three time periods from 1741 to 1935; also referred to as microfilm collections APS I, APS II and APS III.

Nineteenth Century Periodicals (Marist College Library)
"This guide provides a list of 19th century periodicals available online. These periodicals have been digitized by outside institutions and made available to the general public by these institutions. Their continued availability is at the discretion of the digitizing institutions. ... The periodicals have been categorized by date, place of publication and subject."

Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Index to magazines and journals on a wide range of topics, from 1890-1982, originally published as the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.

Periodical Archives - Individual Titles

Esquire
Searchable page image archive of Esquire Magazine from 1933 to 2014. Topics covered include popular culture, entertainment, and men's fashion.
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885)
Publication published from 1830-1885 covering fashion, health, recipes, and as well as literary works, essays, and reviews.
HarpWeek
Harper's Weekly page images from 1857 to 1877.
Life Magazine Archives
Page image archive of Life Magazine, from November 1936 (issue 1) to December 2000.
Nation
Searchable page image archive of The Nation magazine going back to its first issue in 1865. Includes articles as well as reviews, letters, poems, and puzzles.
National Review
Searchable page image archive of the National Review magazine from 1955 to the present.
Sports Illustrated
Searchable page image archive of Sports Illustrated magazine from 1954 to 2000. Covers professional and amateur sports as well as popular culture, business, and politics.
Time
Searchable page image archive of Time Magazine, from March 1923 through December 2000. Includes photographs and advertisements.
Vogue Archive
Page images of U.S. Vogue from 1892 to present.