Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World History Databases and Digital Collections
Atlantic History in Oxford Bibliographies Online
Guide to current scholarship on topics in "a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century."
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983
A resource for "tracking down important studies, exploring historic controversies, finding papers by innovators, [and] researching the development of particular technologies."
Eighteenth Century Collections Online: ECCO
Aims to cover every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works printed in the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera focusing on topics in subject areas such as language and literature; religion and philosophy; fine arts; history and geography; social sciences; law; and medicine, science, and technology.
"Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology."
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents from archives within digital humanities and social sciences collections.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange
A collection of primary sources focusing on “fifteen significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. These commodities have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, transforming societies, global trading operations and habits of consumption, giving rise to new consumer desires and aspirations.”
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, and women's history. Provides indexing of 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
IsisCB Explore History of Science Index
Open access citations to books, journals, reviews, theses and more from the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Oral History Online
A database of English-language oral histories, i.e., full-text content available in Alexander Street Press collections. Also an index (with over 100,00 entries) to free oral history information on the Web, covering material provided by archives, repositories, individuals, and organizations around the world.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A digital collection that offers primary-source documents drawn from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world to address key aspects of six centuries of slavery worldwide. Among topics covered are the African Coast, the Middle Passage, varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. Also includes case studies from the U.S., the Caribbean, Cuba, and Brazil.
Visual History Archive (Shoah Foundation and ProQuest)
Online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.
Women and Social Movements, International
A collection of primary materials that includes writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. Projected ultimately to offer 150,000 pages of documents. (The current release contains more than 12,000 items from more than 1,600 sources spanning over 35,000 pages.)