Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
An index of literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers 1,700 journals from 1964 to date, providing citations, abstracts, and in many cases links to full text of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
An index of literature on topics in the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers more than 1,700 journals from 1955 to date, providing citations, abstracts, and in many cases links to full text of articles published in more than 40 languages.
American Memory (Library of Congress)
"Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America."
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
A Library of Congress-provided Web interface for searching the OCLC WorldCat database to retrieve records for cataloged archival and manuscript collections.
New York State Resources
New York Heritage (Digital Collections)
"New York Heritage is a research portal for ... anyone ... who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more."
New York State Library: The Research Library
"The State Library's collections include over 20 million items that support State government work and the research needs of the general public." Divisions supporting historical research include Library Collections; Manuscripts and Special Collections; and the New Netherland Research Center.
New York State Library: Manuscripts and Special Collections
The Manuscripts and Special Collections unit, established in 1881, is responsible for the acquisition, access, and preservation of collections of archives and manuscripts, rare books, maps and atlases, prints and photographs, broadsides and posters, musical scores, and ephemera. These collections document the history of New York State from the 17th century to the present.
New York State Library: New Netherland Research Center
Location where researchers can access translations of early Dutch colonial manuscripts and a vast library of early documents, books, and reference works telling the story of the Dutch global reach during the American colonial period and its lasting impact.
New York State Library: Digital Collections
Resources available: many New York State publications, both contemporary materials from 1995 to the present and selected publications from earlier years; some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history; and, along with books, primary source materials (e.g., letters, diaries and rare manuscripts, maps, music scores). Newer State documents are generally "born digital," while older items have been scanned from original copies located in the State Library. All material is made freely available online, usually as PDF documents.
New York State Newspapers
Provides full-text access to a customized selection of newspapers chosen by Syracuse University Library. For individual newspapers included in the collection, coverage through the current day may begin as early as 1980.
Syracuse News Sources
Offers text of articles published in the Syracuse, NY Post-Standard newspaper from 1986 to the present, as well as material published in the Syracuse Herald-American and the Syracuse Herald-Journal 1986-2001.
Offers access to U.S. news coverage by newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes archival content, in some instances going back as far as the 1980s, from sources such as the Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and USA Today, as well as content from hundreds of local and regional newspapers.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
A one-stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases, including AltPressWatch, Ethnic Newswatch, GenderWatch, and titles in ProQuest Historical Newspapers collections (e.g., the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times This link opens in a new window
[1851 to within about 4 years of the current date] Offers full-page scans from The New York Times with searchable article text going back to newspaper's first issue in 1851.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
1889 to within about 18 years of the current date] Offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back from a newspaper known globally for its coverage of business and economics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
[1877 to within about 17 years of the current date] Offers full-page images from the first newspaper in Washington D.C. to publish political reporting and other news seven days per week.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
[1881 to within about 24 years of the current date] Offers full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Times under all its title variants.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program." "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Contains page images for hundreds of U.S. historical newspapers, with coverage for some going back to the 1700's. (Includes various Syracuse newspapers dating back to the 19th Century.) NOTE: Publisher recommends using Chrome or Safari browser; IE, Firefox, and other browsers will work, but functionality may be limited.
SU Libraries is evaluating this resource and welcomes your feedback. If you use this resource regularly, please help us by responding to this brief survey.
America's Historical Newspapers
Offers fully searchable reproductions of pages from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1876. Initial content, based on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, has been supplemented with material from the American Antiquarian Society. (Regional coverage varies, ending in the 1820s for Southern newspapers and extending to 1876 for Northern and Old Northwest newspapers.)
Newspapers published throughout the Caribbean between 1718 and 1876.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Hispanic American newspapers published in the United States from 1808 to 1980.
American Underworld: The Flash Press
Offers journalistic coverage of seamier aspects of 19th-century (1826-1876) urban life from “flash press” newspapers which were often published in ephemeral print runs. Articles address gambling, legal and illegal sporting activities, prostitution, urban gangs, the underground economy, and investigations and trials of sensational crimes. Also includes reviews of bawdy theatrical performances, interviews, humor and satire, and original poems and songs.
African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
A source of information about culture and history which includes first-hand reporting on major events and issues of the day. Covers, for example, Presidential and congressional addresses, business, commodity markets, religion, and biography. Also includes essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
African American Newspapers Series I and II
African American newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998.
American Indian Newspapers
Covers American Indian history in North America from 1828 to 2016 and offers American Indian perspectives on federal and tribal politics, self-representation, environmental activism, the American Indian Movement, and tribal schools and colleges.
Searchable, full-text version of an influential newspaper of the antebellum antislavery crusade in the United States, published in Boston, Massachusetts by William Lloyd Garrison.
Chicago Defender Archive
[1905-1975] Full-page and article images with searchable full text of the influential black newspaper founded by Robert Sengstacke Abbott. By the outbreak of the First World War, it had become the most widely read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
A digital collection which initially focused on national and regional newspapers related to the Ku Klux Klan (KKK), predominantly from the 1920s. With an expanded focus, increasingly covers newspapers published by groups that were attacked by the KKK and other white nationalist organizations, including Catholic newspapers with a strong anti-Klan voice and Jewish, Labor, and African American newspapers from the time period.
Service Newspapers of World War Two
1939-1948 publications for soldiers, sailors, and airmen from the U.S., Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East serving in major theaters of World War II. Intended to support morale and to create an atmosphere of solidarity, to keep service personnel informed about events in their units and immediate locality, and to deliver news from home and about the war at large. Includes Union Jack, Stars and Stripes (London edition, for American troops in the European theatre), The Maple Leaf (for Canadian troops), Eighth Army News (for British troops in Italy), Springbok (for South African troops in the Middle East), and Victory and Fauji Akhbar (for troops serving in India).
Index to Early American Periodicals
Three "Indexes to Early American Periodicals" covering three separate time spans from 1741 to 1935, thought to include every known periodical publication that had its inception and ending during this time period. The actual text of the publications is in microformat in three microfilm collections often referred to as APS I, APS II and APS III.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
Collectively, five series span nearly two centuries, providing access to thousands of historical periodicals and covering a broad range of subjects reflecting American material, intellectual, and social life. Chronological coverage: Series I, 1691-1820; Series II, 1821-1837; Series III, 1838-1852; Series IV, 1852-1865; Series V, 1866-1877. NOTE: To access Series 2, 3, 4, and/or 5, click on "Choose Databases" and select the series of interest from the list of options.
American Periodicals Series Online
Offers digitized reproductions of content from more than a thousand American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including general and special interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals. (Based on the American Periodicals microform collection series I, II, and III.)
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
Full index of 42 art journals published in the U.S. from 1840 to 1907. Covers articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements. Offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
Nineteenth Century Periodicals (Marist College Library)
"This guide provides a list of 19th century periodicals available online. These periodicals have been digitized by outside institutions and made available to the general public by these institutions. Their continued availability is at the discretion of the digitizing institutions. ... The periodicals have been categorized by date, place of publication and subject."
Periodicals Archive Online
An archive that makes backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. Spans more than two centuries of content and dozens of subject areas in multiple languages.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Index to popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 to 1982, "offers full coverage of the original paper volumes."
Periodical Archives - Individual Titles
Searchable page image archive of Esquire Magazine from 1933 to 2014. Topics covered include popular culture, entertainment, and men's fashion.
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1885)
Content of early issues included extensive fashion descriptions and plates; biographical sketches; articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, costume, dance, equestrienne procedures, and health and hygiene; and recipes and remedies, as well as some sheet music, primarily for the pianoforte. Over time, the periodical matured into an important literary magazine containing essays, poetry, and short stories by celebrated 19th-century authors such as Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.
Full-text access to Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1877 with coverage of the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Includes scanned images as well as searchable text.
Life Magazine Archives
Searchable, cover-to-cover, page image archive of the weekly Life Magazine from November 1936 to December 2000. Offers coverage of numerous subject areas and events with notable photographs.
A searchable page-image archive of the magazine going back to its first issue in 1865. Includes articles as well as reviews, letters, poems, and puzzles.
A searchable page-image archive of the magazine covering 1955 to the present.
A searchable page-image archive of the magazine from 1954 to 2000. Covers professional and amateur sports as well as popular culture, business, and politics.
A searchable page-image archive of the magazine, from March 1923 through December 2000. Includes articles, photographs, and advertisements.
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, with all pages, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs included. Features the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists, and photographers and serves as a record of American and international fashion, culture, and society of the modern era.
U.S. Government and Geographic Information and Statistical Data
Comprehensive resource for legislative research. Includes: full text of bills (1989-), public laws (1988-), committee reports (1990-), and House and Senate documents (1995-); the Congressional Record (1985-) and the Federal Register (1980-); the Serial Sets American State Papers (1789-1838), Reports and Documents of the 15th-91st Congress (1817-1969), and Maps (1789-1969); and searchable pdfs for Hearings (1824-), Committee Prints (1830-), and CRS Reports (1916-).
Historical Statistics of the United States
"The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history." Includes "essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation."
A tool that enables users to explore and visually analyze current and historical demography of the United States and to produce maps and reports. Data going back to 1940 can be viewed in map or table form and can be downloaded.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
Offers digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Digital National Security Archive
"Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present."
Cold War Intelligence: The Secret War between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991
A collection of formerly classified U.S. government documents illustrating successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War. Covers the period from the end of World War II in 1945 until the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, but also includes a number of formerly classified reports and articles written by U.S. intelligence historians since the end of the Cold War.
US Intelligence on the Middle East: 1945-2009
"This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II ... up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program."
Film/Video and Television Databases
American History in Video
A collection of thousands of online video resources for the study of American history. Offers access to commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries for analysis of historical events and of their presentation over time.
C-SPAN (Cable-Satellite Public Affairs Network) Video Library
C-SPAN is a private, non-profit American cable television network that was created by the cable television industry in 1979 as a public service. It offers television broadcasting of federal government proceedings and other public affairs programming. "C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 ... is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks. Covers 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC; 1995 to present for CNN; and 2004 to present for FoxNews. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name).
Other Specialized Databases and Digital Collections
Gale Primary Sources
A cross-search interface offering "access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions." Enables users to "explore a wide range of … [material], including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more."
Early English Books Online: EEBO
"Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700."
English Short Title Catalogue
Covering the period from the beginnings of print to 1800, provides descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials in any language printed in Great Britain or in any of its dependencies and for English-language materials printed anywhere else in the world. Includes information on all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A digital collection documenting key aspects of six centuries of slavery worldwide. Among topics covered are the African Coast, the Middle Passage, varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. Also includes case studies from the U.S., the Caribbean, Cuba, and Brazil.
European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750
Index to works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Contains more than 32,000 entries that covers subjects such as European exploration, native American peoples, natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery. (Original bibliography co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library.)
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Offers access to primary and secondary sources on Native Americans of the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes biographies, oral histories, photos, drawings, and audio files related to North American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Draws on materials in the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library in Chicago. Spans the 17th through 20th centuries, from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians to long-term political, social, and cultural impacts on American Indian life. Includes treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, and ledger books; artwork; American Indian newspapers from the 1960s to the 1990s; rare printed books; photographs; and maps.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Addresses many topics pertaining to North America's indigenous peoples, including culture and history. Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and U.S. and Canadian government documents covering the 16th century to the present.
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000
"A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. ... The collection currently includes 91 document projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools."
Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 1639-1800
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59) and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton.
African American Archives
Offers access to more than one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African-American experience over several centuries, material drawn from Essential Records Concerning Slavery and Emancipation from the Danish West Indies (1672-1917) and from some other slavery-related collections. Content includes letters, account books, annual reports, and news clippings.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online: ECCO
Aims to cover every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works printed in the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera focusing on topics in subject areas such as language and literature; religion and philosophy; fine arts; history and geography; social sciences; law; and medicine, science, and technology.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange
Includes correspondence, photographs, logbooks, and newspapers addressing trade between China and North America from the 18th to the early 20th century.
Black Thought and Culture : African Americans to 1975
Collection of non-fiction works by prominent black American figures, as well as transcripts of speeches, interviews, trial transcripts, and other fugitive material.
Black Studies Center
A gateway to Black Studies that includes scholarly essays, articles from recent periodicals and historical newspapers, and material from the fields of literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
ATLA monograph series: Religion and Social Change, 1723-1921
Digital collection of books published from 1723-1921 that addressed religion and social movements, including women's rights, church and state, abolition, evolution, and education reforms.
America and Great Britain: Diplomatic Relations, 1775-1815, British Government Documents
Offers 40 years of official diplomatic correspondence between America and Britain. Documents cover the discontents and ultimate rebellion of “Colonies and Plantations in North America;” recognition of the independent United States of America in 1782; the new nation’s political maturation; grievances that led to the War of 1812; the negotiation of a lasting Anglo-American peace in 1815; and the rise of the United States as a global power.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports, presidential letters and messages, and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Civil War Primary Source Documents
Primary source documents covering the Civil War, including the years leading up to the war and the fall of the Confederacy, from the collections of the New York Historical Society.
Civil War : a Newspaper Perspective
Full-text of over 11,000 articles gleaned from over 2500 issues of newspapers published between Nov. 1, 1860 and Apr. 15, 1865. Coverage begins with events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies.
Images of the American Civil War
"Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis... [including] images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society ... The database currently holds over 10,400 images. Over 8,400 of these images come from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society."
Victorian Popular Culture
Archival Victorian popular culture collections including content from the Senate House Library, University of London; The Harry Price Library of Magical Literature; Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas at Austin; The British Library; the British Film Institute National Archive and more.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century
Archive of political extremist primary source materials, including oral histories, government records, campaign literature, and ephemera, drawn from collections such as the American Radicalism collection (Michigan State University), the Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda (Brown University), the Searchlight Archive (University of Northampton, UK) and the UK National Archives (UK).
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary from a very important period in American social and political history. Key themes: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement.
Resources for Latin American Studies
Latin American Newspapers 2
Newspapers published throughout Latin America between 1822 and 1922.
Provides bibliographic citations for articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials published throughout the world since 1970 that offer information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Handbook of Latin American Studies providing an index to social science and humanities publications in the field of Latin American studies.
"The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies ... and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. ... LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America."