Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
(Ebsco will be new platform for this resource beginning in 2019) The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
FRANCIS offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records from 1972 to 2015. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports. FRANCIS is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. Its broad subject areas and international scope make it an ideal stand-alone social science database, as well as a suitable complement for more specialised databases.FRANCIS is strong in areas such as archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and sociology. The database contains abstracts in French or English, and descriptors in both languages, and includes coverage of journals, books, conference papers and other documents.
No longer being updated.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text provides full text of the most important scholarly sources in the humanities. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 2,000 titles and contains more than 2 million records.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Linguistics Abstracts Online : LABS
Abstracts of scholarly articles appearing in linguistics journals from around the world. Also includes abstracts from articles in related fields.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.
Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Familiarize yourself with your topic. Be sure you are able to answer the following questions before beginning your research:
Gather background information about your topic using reference sources.
- Reference books provide important information on a topic, include specific details, and point to other useful sources of information. They point the way into the core literature of a topic contained in books, journals, reports, and many other types of publications. They can also summarize, digest, or review the literature on a topic in ways that save you time and energy.
Review the database directory to the left and select the appropriate resources beginning with MLA. Searching additional databases will supplement and expand the content you are able to gather.
Please email or call Barbara Opar (firstname.lastname@example.org
or 443-3518) if you are having trouble finding the right information for an assignment. You can also schedule an appointment if you need help using electronic resources or for more in-depth assistance with a research project.
While the Syracuse University Libraries have extensive holdings in the area of French language and literature, certain kinds of resources may be limited or unavailable. ILL is a service available to help students and faculty obtain books on loan from other academic libraries. Periodical articles are provided free of charge in photocopy or digital form. Click here
for more information.
Syracuse University Libraries store certain older or lesser used materials off-site. The forms for delivery from Hawkins or the Warehouse are available on the Library's home page. Deliveries take place only Monday through Friday. Bound periodicals are now located at the Facility. Delivery is available Sunday through Friday. For further details, see Delivery Services