Consultation:
Please email or call Barbara Opar (baopar@syr.edu or 443-3518) if you are having trouble finding the right information for an assignment. You can also schedule an appointment if you need help using electronic resources or for more in-depth assistance with a research project.
InterLibrary Loan:
While the Syracuse University Libraries have extensive holdings in the area of French language and literature, certain kinds of resources may be limited or unavailable. ILL is a service available to help students and faculty obtain books on loan from other academic libraries. Periodical articles are provided free of charge in digital form. Click here for more information.
Storage Requests:
Syracuse University Libraries store certain older or lesser used materials off-site. The forms for delivery are available on the Libraries' home page. If an item is stored off site, a form will appear to request delivery. Bound periodicals are now located at the Facility. For further details, see Delivery Services.
Feb 4, 2021
Harvard Guide to Using Sources: The Harvard Guide to Using Sources is an easily accessible introductory guide to use of sources. It includes tips for students on finding, choosing, and integrating reliable sources into academic writing. The Guide provides examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago styles of citation and includes information on avoiding plagiarism.
Introduction to Library Research in French Literature
Z2171 B34, Carnegie
Collins French dictionary & grammar
HarperCollins, 2007.
Electronic resource:
http://www.credoreference.com/vol/503
A dictionary of argot : (French-English)
Author:Knoblauch, W. von,
https://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781315121444
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English
Oxford University Press, 2010.
Electronic resource:
https://tinyurl.com/y5lpkxch
Dictionarium latinogallicum de Robert Estienne, 1552
Dictionaire historique et critique de Pierre Bayle, 1740
Dictionaire critique de la langue française de Jean-François Féraud
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française
Thresor de la langue françoyse de Jean Nicot, 1606
Business French dictionary French-English, English-French.
P. Collin, 1995.
Electronic resource:
Routledge French technical dictionary = : Routledge dictionnaire technique anglais.
Routledge, 1994.
Electronic resource:
https://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9780203014257
Dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue française
de Paul Robert
PC2625 .R554 1985
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire etymologique de la langue française
PC2580 .B55 1964
Bird - 5th floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire de l’ancienne langue française
PC2889 .G6, 1982
Bird - 5th floor (oversize)
Dictionary of Modern Colloquial French
PC2640 .H47 1984
Bird - 5th floor
Dictionnaire du français medieval
PC2889 .M38 2015
Birth - 5th floor
Dictionnaire du français québécois
PC3645 .Q4 .D52 1985
Bird - 5th floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire des mots suisses de la langue française
PC3661 .N53 1990
Bird - 5th floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire thematique visual
PC2629 .C67 1987
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Le grand Larousse de la lange française
PC2625 .G7
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Lexis: dictionnaire de la langue française
PC2625 .L46 1975
Bird - 5th floor
Old French-English dictionary
PC2891 .H56 2000
Birth - 5th floor
Tresor de la langue française
PC2625 .I4
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Le bon usage : Grevisse langue française / Maurice Grevisse, André Goosse.
Author: Grevisse, Maurice, editor.
Published: Louvain-La-Neuve [Belgique] : De Boeck Supérieur, [2016]
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=5155645
Le bon usage : grammaire française avec des remarques sur la langue française d'aujourd'hui.
Author: Grevisse, Maurice.
Publisher: Gembloux (Belgique) J. Duculot, 1955.
https://catalog.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=933325
The libraries are reviewing online possibilities for this resource.
Begin your research using the literary databases. However, valuable information can often be found in tangential resourses, see specifics below.
Bibliography of books, journal articles, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations from 1920 to present, covering English language, literature, and culture.
Index and abstracts to scholarly articles published in linguistics journals.
Journals and other resources in the sciences, engineering, business, as well as humanities and social sciences areas. Includes newspapers as well as news transcripts. Provided by NOVELNY.
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.
Index and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations covering linguistics, discourse analysis, phonetics, literary theory, semantics and more.
Familiarize yourself with your topic. Be sure you are able to answer the following questions before beginning your research:
Gather background information about your topic using reference sources.
Feb 4, 2021
American writers in Paris, 1920-1939
Publisher:Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1980.
Canadian writers before 1890
Publisher:Detroit : Gale Research, c1990.
Canadian writers, 1890-1920 :
Publisher:Detroit : Gale Research, c1990.
Canadian writers since 1960.
Publisher:Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1986.
Classical myths and legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance : a dictionary of allegorical meanings
Author:Brumble, H. David.
https://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9780429238895
Dictionnaire des mythes littéraires. English.
Companion to literary myths : heroes and archetypes
https://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781315677095
French novelists since 1960
Publisher:Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1989.
French dramatists, 1789-1914
Publisher:Detroit : Gale Research, c1998.
Historical dictionary of French literature
Author:Flower, John,
https://libezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=e000xna&AN=638430
Nineteenth-century French poets
Publisher:Detroit : Gale Group, c2000.
Modern French poets
Publisher:Detroit : Gale Group, c2002.
Sixteenth-century French writers
Publisher:Detroit : Thomson Gale, c2006.
Seventeenth-Century French Writers.
Publisher:Farmington Hills : Cengage Gale Oct. 2002
Twentieth-century French dramatists
Author:O'Neil, Mary Anne,
Bibliographie des auteurs moderns de langue française
PQ281 .T3
Bird 5th floor
Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française
PQ41 .B4 1994
Bird 5th floor
Dictionnaire de littérature contemporaine
PQ305 .B68
Bird 5th floor
Histoire de la langue et de la littérature française
PQ101 .P5
Bird 5th floor
Dictionnaire des écrivains suisses d’expression
française
PQ3874 .N53 1994
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française
en Amérique
du nord
PQ3900.2 .H36 1989
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Dictionnaire de littérature française
contemporaine
PQ305 .B584
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
PQ41 .N48 1995
Bird 2nd floor (reference) (does not circulate)
Modern French Literature
PQ306 .M57
Bird 5th floor
A French-English Grammar : A Contrastive Grammar on Translational Principles
Modern French Grammar : A Practical Guide
A Reference Grammar of French
A Systemic Functional Grammar of French : From Grammar to Discourse
Ethnic Studies
When researching topics related to ethnicity, look for sources on cultural studies especially ones that are comparative in nature.
Feminist/Gender Criticism
Purdue University Online Writing Lab
Select sources which enable you to examine patterns of thought, behavior, roles, and power between the sexes.
Race Theory
The Purdue source noted above identifies major theorists. Consider perceptions of race in the original work being studied. Look for resources that provide a broad overview of the time, place or society at large to explore context and gain insight on the issues.
Psychoanalytic Resources
A source to research archetypal criticism.
Access available to full text until three years before current date. PEP Web provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and the full text of the major works by Wilfred Bion, Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott along with other major psychoanalytic authors. The journals in the archive presently include the full text many premier English-language journals in psychoanalysis.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
Edited ByMona Baker, Gabriela Saldanha
Edition 3rd Edition
First Published 2019
The Routledge companion to translation studies / edited by Jeremy Munday.
Publisher :London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
P306 .R68 2009, Bird-5th Floor
The Routledge handbook of translation and culture / edited by Sue-Ann Harding and Ovidi Carbonell Cortés.
Published: Abigndon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group, 2018.
P306.2 .R68 2018, Bird-5th Floor
MLA International Bibliography (Highly Recommended)
Vendor: EBSCO
Description: Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies and also MLA Directory of Periodicals. (Dates covered: 1926 - Present)
Contains records to over 100 million items in most (if not all) subject areas. The database can be searched for the original (uniform) title of the work and you may limit your search by the language that you are interested in to discover any translations.
Vendor: University of Chicago
Description: The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la Langue Française) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
ARTFL - FRANTEXT Database This link opens in a new window
Description: Classic works of French literature, prose, and technical writing from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries covering literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Description: Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Description: Index and abstracts to humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the United Kingdom (UK) and English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Description: Index to journals, books and other sources in the humanities, produced by Whitson Publishing.
Description: Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Linguistics Abstracts Online : LABS This link opens in a new window
Description: Index and abstracts to scholarly articles published in linguistics journals.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.