Books, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc. are great resources for getting a scope of your research, developing your terminology to aid your database (article searches), and/or get either an overview or an in-depth analysis on a particular topic (which is not always available in an article). Sometimes you don't need to read the whole book, but a chapter or two will do.
These eBook databases contain great food studies related content:
Ayurvedic Science of Food and Nutrition (contains a section by Sudha Raj) by
Ayurveda is widely considered to be one of the oldest health care traditions still in practice today. Originating in India over 3,000 years ago, it is now increasingly recognized and practiced globally including in many European countries and the United States. Food and nutrition play a crucial role in the health care wisdom of Ayurveda. The Ayurvedic Science of Food and Nutrition discusses the various principles of healthy eating as prescribed by Ayurveda. Divided into three sections, it addresses the fundamentals, the clinical applications, and the future challenges of Ayurveda. Specifically, the book discusses issues such as the concept of diet, the use of food as medicine, especially to treat diabetes and cancer, convalescent food practices, and fasting therapy. The Ayurvedic Science of Food and Nutrition is unique in that it is one of the only books to investigate the scientific rationale behind Ayurveda, enabling this health care tradition to potentially be incorporated into a Western clinical practice model when this latter conventional therapy is found to be ineffective.
The Complete Vegetarian (contains a chapter by Sudha Raj) by
Citing health concerns as the number one reason why people adopt a vegetarian diet, this collection makes important scientific connections between good health and vegetarianism. The Complete Vegetarian examines the diet's impact on chronic diseases and serves as a nutritional guide and meal-planning resource. Leading vegetarian nutritionists and medical doctors devote entire chapters to nutritional aspects that include fats, protein, and fiber; to diseases such as diabetes, cancer, heart disease, and high blood pressure; and to vegetarian meal planning, including specialized diets for children, pregnant women, and athletes. The contributors' cutting-edge research finds that it is not only an absence of meat that accounts for the health effects of a vegetarian diet; other contributing factors include less saturated fat and more fiber, antioxidants, and unsaturated fats than other diets. The Complete Vegetarian promises to be an essential resource for health professionals and the growing number of people who have adopted or are thinking about adopting a vegetarian lifestyle. Contributors include John J. B. Anderson, Dina Aronson, Peggy Carlson, James Craner, Brenda Davis, Simon K. Emms, Jeanene Fogli, Suzanne Havala Hobbs, Michael A. Klaper, Erin L. Kraker, Valerie Kurtzhalts, D. Enette Larson-Meyer, Reed Mangels, Carol M. Meerschaert, Virginia Messina, Mary Helen Niemeyer, Carl V. Phillips, Sudha Raj, and Cheryl Sullivan.
Building and Sustaining Learning Communities (contains a chapter by Tanya Horacek) by
Learning communities are small, defined groups of students who come together with faculty and student affairs professionals to engage in a holistic and intellectually interactive learning experience. Building and Sustaining Learning Communities describes the theory and rationale for learning communities, particularly in a large university; the process for setting them up in various settings; and reflections on these unique environments. Part I introduces the history and theory behind learning communities, then discusses various issues involved in planning and implementing a learning community on campus, including Forging partnerships between academic- and student-affairs Establishing an environment that supports learning communities Finding strategies for collaboration to promote integrative learning Developing a learning-community structure and curriculum Assessing learning communities Anticipating and meeting institutional challenges Part II profiles experiences of faculty and students involved in some of Syracuse University's learning communities, which represent a variety of pedagogies, including arts, citizenship, education, human services and health professions, leadership, management, and online learning. The authors share how each learning community's structure was designed to meet the unique needs of a program's and its faculty and students. This book guides administrators, faculty, and student-affairs professionals to understand why learning communities are worth considering and how to successfully create them.
Using Student Teams in the Classroom (contains a chapter by Tanya Horacek) by
Teamwork builds cooperation, problem solving, active learning, and responsibility, all of which are increasingly important in both the classroom and in the workplace. Using Student Teams in the Classroom is a helpful guide for all faculty who want to actively engage students with both the material and one another by using teamwork. Beginning with the theory behind teamwork, the book suggests basic ways to incorporate collaboration and discussion into the college classroom, encourage effective communication, and help resolve conflict. It then moves into practical guidelines, examples, and activities and teaching tips for using student teams. The examples span twenty disciplines: architecture, behavioral ecology, ceramics, child and family studies, distance learning, education, engineering, English, fine arts, health and exercise science, higher education, human resource management, supply chain management, mathematics, nursing, nutrition, hospitality and food service management, public affairs, sociology, and writing. Finally, the authors have compiled several articles and a case study on performance in small groups and cooperative learning, along with a list of list of additional resources. Instructors of any subject, of any class size, will be able to learn from and implement the important lessons in this book, thus offering their own students the cognitive, social, and collaborative skills that will aid them in their intellectual and professional endeavors.
Aging by
Aging: Oxidative Stress and Dietary Antioxidants, Second Edition, bridges the trans-disciplinary divide and covers the science of oxidative stress in aging and the therapeutic use of natural antioxidants in the food matrix in a single volume. The second edition covers new trials and investigations used to determine the comprehensive properties of antioxidants, food items and extracts, as well as any adverse properties they may have. It has been updated to include new clinical human trials and a new section dedicated to animal models of aging. Throughtout the book the processes within the science of oxidative stress are described in concert with other processes, such as apoptosis, cell signaling, and receptor mediated responses. This approach recognizes that diseases are often multifactorial, and oxidative stress is a single component of this. Gerontologists, geriatricians, nutritionists, and dieticians are separated by divergent skills and professional disciplines that need to be bridged to advance preventative as well as treatment strategies. While gerontologists and geriatricians may study the underlying processes of aging, they are less likely to be conversant in the science of nutrition and dietetics. On the other hand, nutritionists and dietitians are less conversant with the detailed clinical background and science of gerontology. This book addresses this gap and brings each of these disciplines to bear on the processes inherent in the oxidative stress of aging. This will aid in better research, treatment and outcome for patients.
Brassica Improvement by
Global population is mounting at an alarming stride to surpass 9.3 billion by 2050, whereas simultaneously the agricultural productivity is gravely affected by climate changes resulting in increased biotic and abiotic stresses. The genus Brassica belongs to the mustard family whose members are known as cruciferous vegetables, cabbages or mustard plants. Rapeseed-mustard is world's third most important source of edible oil after soybean and oil palm. It has worldwide acceptance owing to its rare combination of health promoting factors. It has very low levels of saturated fatty acids which make it the healthiest edible oil that is commonly available. Apart from this, it is rich in antioxidants by virtue of tocopherols and phytosterols presence in the oil. The high omega 3 content reduces the risk of atherosclerosis/heart attack. Conventional breeding methods have met with limited success in Brassica because yield and stress resilience are polygenic traits and are greatly influenced by environment. Therefore, it is imperative to accelerate the efforts to unravel the biochemical, physiological and molecular mechanisms underlying yield, quality and tolerance towards biotic and abiotic stresses in Brassica. To exploit its fullest potential, systematic efforts are needed to unlock the genetic information for new germplasms that tolerate initial and terminal state heat coupled with moisture stress. For instance, wild relatives may be exploited in developing introgressed and resynthesized lines with desirable attributes. Exploitation of heterosis is another important area which can be achieved by introducing transgenics to raise stable CMS lines. Doubled haploid breeding and marker assisted selection should be employed along with conventional breeding. Breeding programmes aim at enhancing resource use efficiency, especially nutrient and water as well as adoption to aberrant environmental changes should also be considered. Biotechnological interventions are essential for altering the biosynthetic pathways for developing high oleic and low linolenic lines. Accordingly, tools such as microspore and ovule culture, embryo rescue, isolation of trait specific genes especially for aphid, Sclerotinia and alternaria blight resistance, etc. along with identification of potential lines based on genetic diversity can assist ongoing breeding programmes. In this book, we highlight the recent molecular, genetic and genomic interventions made to achieve crop improvement in terms of yield increase, quality and stress tolerance in Brassica, with a special emphasis in Rapeseed-mustard.
Dietary Sugar, Salt and Fat in Human Health by
Divided into four main sections, Dietary Sugar, Salt and Fat in Human Health explores the biochemical, pharmacological and medicinal aspects related to the overindulgence of dietary salt, sugar, and fat, along with possible remedies. Beginning with a general overview, the text outlines aspects associated with advancing age and human physiology, such as different aspects of insulin resistance, the advancing age phenomenon, central fat accumulation and metabolic perturbations and the role of the modern Western diet and the influence of dietary sugar, salt, and fat, with particular focus on their relation to multiple biochemical pathophysiological pathways. The second section of the book focuses on the roles of dietary sugars and their correlation with the chronic disease epidemic, with an emphasis on carbohydrate metabolism and its biochemistry, GI absorption, the glycemic index and the influence of fructose. The historical background of dietary sugars is discussed alongside Atkin's hypothesis, and an overview of the correlation between dietary fibre and the glycemic index, including a chapter on sugar addiction. Section three contains an exhaustive review of the influence of dietary salt and its diverse mechanistic aspects, including salt-sensitive hypertension, contribution of two steroid receptor pathways, vascular NO, intrarenal RAAS system and angiotensin. The fourth section highlights the biochemistry of dietary saturated, polyunsaturated and trans fat and its influence on human health and various diseases, and further explores NAFLD and gender specific problems. Chapters in this section also investigate the benefits of the Mediterranean diet as well as myths related to cholesterol. Collected and carefully organized for researchers in nutrition, physiology, epidemiology, or sensory science, this book will also benefit general practitioners, surgeons, nurses, health professionals and practitioners, and students studying the role of diet in cardiometabolic disorders and disease.
Molecular Nutrition by
Molecular Nutrition: Vitamins presents the nutritional and molecular aspects of vitamins with a specific focus on vitamins A, B1 (thiamine), B2 (riboflavin), B# (niacin), B5 (pantothenic acid), B6, (pyridoxine), B7 (biotin), B9 (folate), B12 (colbamin), C, D, E, and K. As part of the Molecular Nutrition series, this book discusses introductory aspects and general coverage of vitamins and nutrition, the molecular biology of the cell, including signaling, transporters, oxidative stress, receptors, uptake, immunity, proliferation, endoplasmic reticulum, differentiation, carcinogenesis and apoptosis. Final sections cover genetic machinery and its function, transcriptional processes, homeostasis genes, cancer, gene expression, mutations, and more. Emerging fields of molecular biology and important discoveries related to diet and nutritional health are also covered, rounding out the book.
Nutrient Timing for Peak Performance by
Gain the ultimate advantage! Nutrient Timing for Peak Performance is your guide to consuming the right foods at the right time for optimal results in training or competition. Renowned sport nutritionists Heidi Skolnik and Andrea Chernus have worked alongside today's top athletes, including professional football players and elite marathoners. In Nutrient Timing for Peak Performance, they've combined the latest dietetic research with practical advice you can use to create a personalized action plan based on the needs of your body, your sport, and your goals. With guidelines specific to training and competition, as well as sample meal and snack plans, you'll see how certain nutrients in precise amounts at specific times can improve consistency of energy, speed recovery, increase the building effects of strength training, diminish muscle breakdown, improve immune function, and minimize your risk of injury. Whether you are a dedicated triathlete, high school pitcher, college swimmer, competitive powerlifter, or professional soccer player, Nutrient Timing for Peak Performance is your guide to peak athletic training and performance.
Raw Veganism by
Human beings are getting fatter and sicker. As we question what we eat and why we eat it, this book argues that living well involves consuming a raw vegan diet. With eating healthfully and eating ethically being simpler said than done, this book argues that the best solution to health, environmental, and ethical problems concerning animals is raw veganism--the human diet. The human diet is what humans are naturally designed to eat, and that is, a raw vegan diet of fruit, tender leafy greens, and occasionally nuts and seeds. While veganism raises challenging questions over the ethics of consuming animal products, while also considering the environmental impact of the agriculture industry, raw veganism goes a step further and argues that consuming cooked food is also detrimental to our health and the environment. Cooking foods allows us to eat food that is not otherwise fit for human consumption and in an age that promotes eating foods in 'moderation' and having 'balanced' diets, this raises the question of why we are eating foods that should only be consumed in moderation at all, as moderation clearly implies they aren't good for us. In addition, from an environmental perspective, the use of stoves, ovens and microwaves for cooking contributes significantly to energy consumption and cooking in general generates excessive waste of food and resources. Thus, this book maintains that living well and living a noble life, that is, good physical and moral health, requires consuming a raw vegan diet. Exploring the scientific and philosophical aspects of raw veganism, this novel book is essential reading for all interested in promoting ethical, healthful, and sustainable diets.