Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedias and handbooks are a great way to get an overall picture of your population. Some of these are stand alone volumes in our collection and others can be found in our Reference Databases. The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health can be found in one such database called Credo. The International Encyclopedia of Public Health is a stand alone e-book that can be found in our catalog.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by International Encyclopedia of Public Health, Second Edition is an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, this new edition combines complementary scientific fields of inquiry, linking biomedical research with the social and life sciences to address the three major themes of public health research, disease, health processes, and disciplines. This book helps readers solve real-world problems in global and local health through a multidisciplinary and comprehensive approach. Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health. Additional articles on the history of public health, global issues, research priorities, and health and human rights make this work an indispensable resource for students, health researchers, and practitioners alike. Provides the most comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work available on public health Presents an invaluable resource for both researchers familiar with the field and non-experts requiring easy-to-find, relevant, global information and a greater understanding of the wider issues Contains interdisciplinary coverage across all aspects of public health Incorporates biomedical and health social science issues and perspectives Includes an international focus with contributions from global domain experts, providing a complete picture of public health issues
Publication Date: 2017
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by **Look at "Demography" section**
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Need help? Contact your librarian!
Local, Regional, Federal Statistics/ Health Indicators
Population Specific Databases
Look for literature/articles that help you understand the socioecological and psychosocial factors that influence your target population. Brainstorm terminology to begin with and then, as you look over results, jot down additional terminology to broaden your search.
AgeLine Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Bibliography of Native North Americans Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Chicano Database Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
Contemporary Women's Issues Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic and minority presses.
GenderWatch Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
LGBTQ+ Source Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
PsycInfo Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Race Relations Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.