Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page...
Use these resources to find historical speeches, oral history projects, and a wide variety of CRS resources available on the web.
- American Rhetoric
Includes Online Speech Bank (database of full text, audio and video versions of public speeches); American Top 100 Speeches, and other resources.
Communication and Rhetorical Studies Websites and Directories
A web portal maintained by the Visual Rhetoric Workgroup at the Computer Writing and Research Lab from the Department of Rhetoric and Writing at The University of Texas at Austin
- Rhetorica: Press-Politics Journal
"The Rhetorica Network offers analysis and commentary about the rhetoric, propaganda, and spin of journalism and politics, including analysis of presidential speeches and election campaigns. This site features the Rhetorica: Press-Politics Journal web log, comprehensive news media links, a rhetoric textbook, a primer of critical techniques, and information for citizens. The character of Rhetorica represents the purposes and canons of classical rhetoric."
Oral History Resources
- In the First Person
Provides in-depth indexing collections of oral history in English from around the world. With future releases, the index will broaden to identify other first-person content, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and autobiographies, and other personal narratives. Includes full-text content when available.
- UCLA Center for Oral History research
Listings of the major oral history organizations nationally and internationally; guidance and reference materials on how to conduct an oral history; and forms, guidelines, and agreements for interviews.
Topical & Historical Image Collections
General American History
- Library of Congress American Memory Project
Search the 66 galleries of digital images made available by the Library of Congress American Memory Project. Collections include: Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929, America from the Great Depression to World War II: Photographs from the FSA and OWI, ca. 1935-1945, The Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana, Words and Deeds in American History: Selected Documents Celebrating the Manuscript Division's First 100 Years, By the People, For the People: Posters from the WPA, 1936-1943, and September 11, 2001, Documentary Project.
- The Picture Collection of The New York Public Library
Over 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, created mostly before 1923 and selected from the over 1,000,000 images in the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection. The Picture Collection is particularly rich in images of New York City, American history, and clothing and dress.
A searchable archive of classic print advertisements from 1940 to present, covering categories such as automotive, computers, electronics, entertainment, fashion, food and beverage, health and beauty, hobbies, home and hardware, jewelry, music, travel, and photography, among others.
- The Emergence of Advertising in America 1850 - 1920 (from Duke University
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.
- Propaganda Postcards from WWI
Features a collection of war-themed postal cards produced during World War 1 (1914 - 1919). More than 2,500 cards will eventually be displayed in an organized fashion. The cards are mementos of a world at war during the second decade of the 20th century. Teacher OZ
- World War II Propaganda Directory
Links to undreds of online galleries and images collections dedicated to the public face of WWII from many perspectives.
- World War I Photograph Albums and Postcards
Nearly 400 images reproducing two amateur albums of drawings and photographs by Americans serving in France; a series of German photographic postcards; and a French automaker's published album.
- Turn of the [20th] Century Posters
Over 1,000 American and European posters printed from 1893 through the first years of the 20th-century. The collection represents the inception and heyday of magazine, book, and newspaper posters of the last decade of the 19th-century, and well into the 20th-century.
- British Library Images Online
a unique resource for commercial picture buyers, enabling you to license thousands of images from the British Library's unparalleled collections.