Research Guides: Communication and Rhetorical Studies Resources: Databases

Archival Periodicals

Time
Searchable page image archive of Time Magazine, from March 1923 through December 2000. Includes photographs and advertisements.
Sports Illustrated
Searchable page image archive of Sports Illustrated magazine from 1954 to 2000. Covers professional and amateur sports as well as popular culture, business, and politics.
Vogue Archive
Page images of Vogue Magazine (US) from 1892 to present.
Life Magazine Archives
Page image archive of Life Magazine, from November 1936 (issue 1) to December 2000.
Rolling Stone Archive
Page images of Rolling Stone from 1967 to present.
Esquire
Searchable page image archive of Esquire Magazine from 1933 to 2014. Topics covered include popular culture, entertainment, and men's fashion.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 1998.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.

General Databases covering Communication & Rhetorical studies

Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
Communications and Mass Media
Journals and magazines providing coverage of advertising, communications, public relations, linguistics, writing and more. Provided by NOVELNY.
Film and Television Literature Index
Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular performing arts journals and magazines, conference papers, covering the arts and entertainment industry, dance, film, television, drama, theater, musical theater, storytelling, opera, puppetry, magic and more; includes interviews, discographies, and reviews.

Transcultural Communication

Chicano Database
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
GenderWatch
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Ethnic News Watch
A collection of full text articles from 200 publications covering the ethnic, minority and native press in America with international coverage. ENW provides news, culture and history from a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

International Index to Black Periodicals
Includes content from over 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black studies, covering a wide array of humanities and social science disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.

Race Relations Abstracts
Current information in the area of race relations. Issues covered include discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law and legislation.

Legal Communication

NexisUni
Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

PAIS International
Index with abstracts to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs from 1972 to the present.

Business/ Organizational / Marketing Communication

- ABI Inform
  Index and abstracts to articles from leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S. Full abstract and indexing coverage begins with 1992. Full text available for over 600 titles.
- World Advertising Research Center
  The WARC.com database contains over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications drawn from more than 30 leading content sources worldwide. These include WARC's own publications (e.g. Admap, the International Journal of Advertising) as well as those from its many partner organizations.

- Business Full Text
  Provides indexing and abstracting of articles from over 800 English-language business magazines, trade and research journals, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

- Business Source Elite
  Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.

Proquest Research Library
Covers a wide range of topics including the arts, business, education, general interest, law, military, psychology, and women's interests.

Political Communication

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields from 1989 to the present, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Polling the Nations
A unique compilation of questions and responses from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the US and over 60 other countries. The surveys contain information on over 3,000 subjects, from social and political concerns to economic issues. Data gathered by professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, etc.
Peace Research Abstracts
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.