Renaissance Resources

DECIMA refers both the acronym Digitally Encoded Census Information & Mapping Archive and to a type of early modern Italian tax document from which it takes most of its' data. The project seeks to track human movement in the city of Florence in the 15th and 16th centuries through the larger DECIMA web map and through several specialized maps, such as those tracking neighborhood churches or spaces of sex work. It is currently accessible to the public and scholars are able to utilize the data to build their own specialized maps. 

Digital Sepoltuario, which is currently unpublished, will offer an online resource for the study of commemorative culture in medieval and Renaissance Florence. The forthcoming website will include an illustrated digital catalogue of the city's tomb monuments that recreates the memorial landscape of the pre-modern city.

Florence As It Was is a digital project that aims to reconstruct the city the way it appeared at the end of the fifteenth century. In addition to digital models of the city, the website includes, in English, the Italian and German interpretations of Florence that were written by critics and scholars in the 17th, 18th, and 20th centuries.

Bernard Berenson’s Drawings of the Florentine Painters is a digital resource based on Berenson’s publication of the same name. This research tool permits searches for any of the drawings listed in the three editions (1903, 1938 in English; 1961, in Italian). Filters allow browsing and searching by artist and title (as provided by Berenson, in English or Italian), location and technique. Each entry includes key information from all three editions of Berenson’s text, as well as the current location, an image of the catalog page, and plates included in 1903 and from the British Museum. Many entries for drawings by Sandro Botticelli and Filippino Lippi (and their schools), have been enriched to include links to museum webpages.

This website accompanies the smartphone app that invites users to experience Renaissance Florence through the eyes of five contemporary characters. Each guide takes users on a unique walking tour through the city’s rich past, linking the sites you visit to stories from their own lives and times.

This dissertation project utilizes digital humanities tools for network analysis and topic modeling has served to both contextualize Catherine of Siena as a central figure of 14th-century Europe, as well as substantiate her as a literary figure who wrote metaphorically and adhered to poetic trends of her time.

A digital humanities initiative that compiles a searchable database of all documents in Florence relating to the Medici family. It includes the BIA database, which is a compilation of all documents in the Mediceo del Principato archive, and the MIA database, which is an interactive platform that allows scholars to both search and share their collections of documents relating to the Medici in Florence.

This project is still in progress, but upon completion, it will feature high-resolution and fully manipulable digital models of the Renaissance musical instruments in the Ashmolean Museum's collection.

This project was produced by the same team that created the Hidden Florence app, which provides immersive stories through site-specific walks in the city of Florence. This project seeks to reconstruct the now-lost church of San Pier Maggiore in Florence which can be used on-site through their app.

The Map of Early Modern London includes four interoperable projects: a digital edition of the 1561 Agas woodcut map of London; an Encyclopedia and Descriptive Gazetteer of London people, places, topics, and terms; a Library of marked-up texts rich in London toponyms; and a versioned edition of John Stow’s Survey of London.