Renaissance Resources

This resource, run by the "Università di Roma, La Sapienza" contains a vast amount of Italian primary sources with xml markup, ranging from the 13th-18th centuries. One of its most useful features is the ability to perform full-text searches.

The word ‘decima’ translates literally to ‘one tenth’ in Latin and Italian. The DECIMA Project takes its name from the 1561 decima tax, a 10% property value tax. DECIMA is also an acronym that stands for the Digitally Encoded Census Information & Mapping Archive. While most digital mapping of pre-modern cities focuses on the built environment, few also integrate comprehensive and comparative sets of city-wide data that include elements like human movement or economic activity. It provides useful primary source information including Renaissance maps and economic records.

This newly-revamped resource from Colombia University that offers original research and ideas on Dante, including his thought and work and on various aspects of his reception.

This resource provides a iverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries held in European libraries. The database includes full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts as well as marginalia and annotations (when extant).

Links to a wide variety of primary sources about Italian Renaissance.

List of resources (websites, museums, libraries, and organizations) with primary source documents relating to Medieval and Renaissance History.

This website, run by Pianetascuola and Einaudi, contains a number of digital primary source texts from the Duecento to today. It does not allow searching, as Biblioteca Italiana does, but the texts are often available for download in PDF and well-suited to reading on a tablet or e-reader.

A digital humanities initiative that compiles a searchable database of all documents in Florence relating to the Medici family. It includes the BIA database, which is a compilation of all documents in the Mediceo del Principato archive, and the MIA database, which is an interactive platform that allows scholars to both search and share their collections of documents relating to the Medici in Florence.

Mirabile is an online content aggregator of medieval resources. It contains extensive databases of medieval studies resulting from collaboration between the Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino (SISMEL) and the Fondazione Ezio Franceschini (FEF) and their journals published by SISMEL - Edizioni del Galluzzo.

Digitized illuminated manuscripts from the New York Public Library.

Hosted by Brown University, this database provides over 10,000 digital records from the tax declaration, or catasto, of 1427 in Florence.

The OPOB includes Ettore Modigliani’s diplomatic edition of the Rerum Vulgarium Fragmenta; Gianfranco Contini’s edition and Giuseppe Savoca’s critical edition; the commentary by Alessandro Vellutello (1525), the Spanish and French translations by Enrique Garcés and Vasquin Philieul (16th century), an English translation (A. S. Kline), and partial translations in Russian, Chinese, Japanese and German. *You must set up an accoun

Designed for students, casual readers and specialists, the Petrarchive proposes a corrected diplomatic edition and a new edition of Petrarch’s songbook, the Rerum vulgarium fragmenta (Canzoniere), together with a new 13-part commentary of the material properties, prosody, syntax and early history of the work, a new translation, historical translations in English that demonstrate the influence of Petrarch’s vernacular poems in the history of Anglo-American literature, and multiple visual indexes to navigate, for the first time, Petrarch’s visual poetics and the material constructions of his songbook.

The Theater that was Rome looks at the creation of early modern Rome as a theater populated by a cosmopolitan group of engineers, artists, architects, authors, printers and publishers, gardeners, pilgrims, clerics, aristocrats and intellectual cardinals who contributed to the flood of printed information that proceeded from early modern interest in the physical and mythological city. It provides documents including maps, prints, and books.

The Vernacular Aristotelianism in Renaissance Italy Database is a searchable catalogue of Aristotelian works written or published in Italian between 1400 and 1650. The census covers both manuscript and printed sources preserved in libraries in Italy, other European countries and the US.

An online library providing access to a wide variety of primary and secondary sources of classical texts and translations such as Lewis and Short’s Latin Dictionary, as well as Renaissance sources and texts which are searchable via the site’s search function. The site also includes database of art and archaeology artifacts.