Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Arts Journalism Resources @ SU Libraries

An SU Libraries research starting points guide for arts journalism

Welcome

SU Libraries offers valuable research tools and sources designed to assist students enrolled in the Goldring Arts Journalism Program.  See this guide's menu bar for links to starting points.  Seek out a librarian for advice or an appointment when you require further guidance.

syracuse university carnegie library reading room

Adjusting the Lens - Special Collections Research Center

Checkout the many historical campus life and building images drawn from SU Archives Photograph Collection, part of the Library's Special Collections Research Center Sept 1, 2020 blog post by Reference Assistant, Isabel McCullough, entitled, Adjusting the Lens

Food For Thought

When we speak, in gestures or signs, we fashion a real object in the world; the gesture is seen, the words and the song are heard. The arts are simply a kind of writing, which, in one way or another, fixes words or gestures, and gives body to the invisible. - Alain [Emile-Auguste Chartier] (1868–1951), French philosopher

Most rock journalism is people who can't write, interviewing people who can't talk, for people who can't read. – Frank Zappa (1940–1993), U.S. rock musician

Digital New York Times

New York Times Logo

New York Times Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries: Access available to all current Syracuse University NETID holders, with @syr.edu email addresses

Provides access to:

  • New York Times content from 1851 to present, from the print and digital editions
  • Digital journalism that includes videos, podcasts, interactive media and more, from mid-1990s to present
  • Page image print edition content:
    • via the Times Machine from 1851-2002
      • Note: PDF viewing/downloading of Times Machine content from 1923-1980 is limited to 5 per day
      • Via New York Times app for 7 days
      • If seeking article text and page imaged print edition New York Times back issues only, these are also available via the library's subscription to ProQuest News & Newspapers (including print editions beyond the end date of coverage by the Times Machine)

      Does not provide access to:

      • Crossword Puzzles
         
      • Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only, and will expire after a specified period of time. Current Syracuse University faculty, students, and staff may reauthenticate. If you register as a student, enter your graduation year.

Registration Instructions - Digital New York Times

To register for a New York Times Digital Edition account:

  1. Go to this registration page, and if off-campus, log in to the EZProxy page with your NetID.
  2. Click on: Create Account
  3. Create a New York Times account using your @syr.edu address and a password of your choice. Do not use your NetID login/password. Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only. If you register as a student, enter your graduation year.
  4. Click: Sign Up
  5. Click: Get Started
  6. After registering, you can access the New York Times directly (without going through the SU Libraries site) by going to nytimes.com or connecting via mobile app, if enabled.
  7. Please note the New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.
  8. If you are having problems registering or accessing your account subsequently, please submit the problem using the Report an Electronic Resource Issue form.
  9. Access will expire after one year for faculty and staff, and at stated graduation date for students.
    • Current SU faculty and staff will receive an email to reauthenticate their account.
    • Students will receive notification when access ends. Continuing students need to reach out to the New York Times to extend access.

Additional information: The New York Times in Education site provides information about educational resources available to account holders.

Already have a personal account:  It is not possible to use the same @syr.edu email address for both a personal and a Syracuse University Libraries digital New York Times account.  Call NYT's Customer Service Department at 800-698-4637 to cancel a paid account that uses an @syr.edu email address, before registering for NYTimes.com access through SU's campus-wide site license. Visit NYT's "contact us" website to see additional options for contacting NYT regarding personal accounts.

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management system-like "RefWorks " or "Zotero?"  Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.

 

A P Associated Press
For stylistic guidelines for journalists particularly -SU Libraries also offers from Associated Press the:

Job Leads

This PDF document lists media directories and other sources that may help any Newhouse student looking to explore leads for career planning purposes and related industry research into companies and job markets.  Be sure to also visit Newhouse's Tina Press and David Rubin Career Development Center.

More Librarians To Know

In addition to Michael Pasqualoni, liaison to the Newhouse School, Goldring students can benefit from interactions with these subject specialists:

  • Ann Skiold, Fine Arts Librarian saskiold@syr.edu 443-3539
  • Rachel Fox Von Swearingen, Librarian for Dance, Music, Musical Theatre rsfoxvon@syr.edu 443-9779
  • Barbara Opar, Architecture Librarian baopar@syr.edu 443-2905
  • Patrick Williams, Librarian for Literature, Writing, Drama jpwill03@syr.edu 443-9520
  • Nicolette Dobrowolski, Librarian, Special Collections Research Center (contact for researchers interested in SCRC collections pertaining to the history of radio, television, film) nischnei@syr.edu 443-9762

 

More Guides Like This One

Visit https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/ for additional librarian created research guides in various disciplines.

For example, here arts journalism students can link to guides for 

..and many more