This guide is authored by SU Libraries Graduate Student Assistant, Sharanya Singh Kanwar - SU School of Education, under supervision of Michael Pasqualoni - Newhouse School Librarian, SU Libraries, Department of Research & Scholarship, Subject Instruction Team
Subject specialists can help you with in-depth research in specific subject areas. Search our directory of subject librarians by subject or name of librarian.
Note that the librarian office hours posted are Eastern Standard Time.
SU Libraries offers a diverse set of Study Spaces. You can find information about all these on the Library's website listed under Spaces.
Some additional information on physical destinations.
Just starting your research? New to using the Libraries' services? See the Research Process Guide with Online Tutorials and Videos for a general understanding of how to get your Research started.
You can also find these videos on the Syracuse University Libraries Website-
Just starting your research? The many different terminologies and technical research terms can be overwhelming. Listed below are the core definition of some of the library's central research tools that will help make the process of starting your own research easier.
A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries. Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.
A list of databases available through Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data, and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area or content type.
A list of print and electronic journals, magazines and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category.
A list of print and electronic materials available in Syracuse University Libraries. Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more. Search by keyword, author, title, subject heading or call number.
Discover research tools, explore the research process, and locate helpful resources for a wide variety of academic topics and specific courses. Created by your friendly librarians at Syracuse University.
Summon is the Libraries’ primary search tool, designed to search both physical print and many online resources in one place. Applying thoughtful Summon searching skills can improve your research outcomes; Summon is intended to be a starting point for research, but there are also other superb tools available to you.
In Summon you can find a majority of the academic journal, magazine and newspaper resources available through library databases, as well as the Classic Catalog, the Syracuse University Digital Collections and the SURFACE repository. Other types of materials, such as dissertations and theses and library research guides are also included. Summon also searches the full-text content of the SU Libraries' physical book and e-book collections and Google Books.
Have a look at the Searching with Summon video for an introduction to using Summon.
Call Us: 315-443-4083
Text Us: 315-464-0744
Email us: libref@syr.edu
Report an Electronic Resource Issue
