Research Guides: Television, Radio, and Film: Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Video Collections

Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Academic Video Online
Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming video titles, including feature films, on a variety of subjects, historic and current, from a number of production companies.
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
ArtFilms Digital
Films, documentaries, masterclasses, and interviews for arts education and practitioners.
Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)
Digital Theatre Plus
If using Chrome, please download the latest version to ensure video playback. Streaming video collection of theatre, dance, musical theatre, opera, and film productions in many genres, as well as interviews and notes by practitioners about production, technique, lighting, design and more; includes content from provider such as the, BBC, Broadway HD, LA Theatre Works, and Royal Shakespeare Company.
Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming Service
Media art from early works to present, as well as biographical information about artists, essays, and information about the media artworks, from Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI).
Medici.tv
Streaming video of performances and documentaries, including concerts, operas, ballets, and master classes by numerous performers, composers, and companies.
Films on Demand
Selected titles from the Films on Demand collection.
Visual History Archive (Shoah Foundation and ProQuest)
Registration (free) required for first-time users.

Streaming video interviews and testimonies from genocide survivors and witnesses including content from the Holocaust, Armenian Genocide, 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996.

Video Collections at Bird Library (3rd Floor)

VIDEO/DVD STUDENT ACCESS POLICIES/PROCEDURES AT SU LIBRARIES

DVDs/Videos may be taken out of the Bird Library building or viewed at the Library viewing stations (request titles at 3rd floor service desk, Bird Library)

Undergraduate students may borrow videos/DVDs for 24 hours (no renewals)
Faculty and Graduate students may borrow videos/DVDs for up to 3 days

For complete information about Video Collections at Bird Library, see the SU Libraries Video Guide
includes instructions for faculty on booking videos and/or placing a title(s) onto video course reserves