Call Us: 315-443-4083
Text Us: 315-464-0744
Email us: libref@syr.edu
Report an Electronic Resource Issue
Welcome, SOM 354 students! This guide was developed collaboratively with your professors to include research resources relevant for SOM 354: Managing in a Global Setting. Use this guide to find information and data on countries, industries, companies, and more.
Use the following resources as a starting point for finding global and country-specific information:
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
To find reports and data on a specific country, use the "Geography" dropdown menu at the top of the EIU page and then select a country. On the country overview page, you will find tabs on the country's "Politics," "Economy," "Business Environment," and more. The "Reports" tab on the country overview page includes reports such as a "One-click report" (covering key country information) and a "Business environment and the long-term forecast" report.
Industry data and reports in EIU are available at the broad industry level (such as "Consumer Goods" and "Healthcare") globally and for many (not all) specific countries. To find industry information, go to the "Industry" tab on the main EIU page.
To find additional industry and business related analysis, use the "Search" bar in EIU and then filter results by geography.
Company, country, industry and product -related reports, analysis, news and case studies.
To find country and city reports, such as "Country Analysis Report: Kenya, PEST Insights," go to "Countries & Cities" on the "Analysis" dropdown menu at the top of the MarketLine page and select "Country Profiles" or "City Profiles."
For additional country and city data, select "Country Statistics" or "City Statistics" from the "Databases" dropdown menu at the top of the MarketLine page. Different countries and cities can be selected to generate comparative statistics. See video tutorials in "Country Statistics" and "City Statistics" for more information.
To find global, regional, and country industry reports, such as "Global - Luxury Goods," click on "More" next to "Industry Profiles" on the MarketLine homepage. Find industry and business related news by clicking "More" next to the "News" box on the MarketLine homepage. Filters for geography and date range are available.
For additional industry data, go to "Industry" on the "Databases" dropdown menu at the top of the MarketLine page and select "Industry Statistics," Industry Data," or "Consumer Data Analytics." Video tutorials are included in "Industry Statistics" and "Consumer Data Analytics."
Go to "Companies" at the top of the Marketline page to find profiles (including SWOT analyses) of top companies. Please note that more companies may be found in Syracuse University Libraries' other company databases.
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
Select "Country & Regions Reports" from the "Reports" dropdown menu at the top of Statista to find reports such as "Kenya," "Demographics of Kenya," and "Nairobi 2022."
Find additional statistics by searching the name of a country in Statista and then narrowing results using the filters in the sidebar.
Find industry and market information by running a keyword search for a term related to your industry and then narrowing results using the filters in the sidebar. You can also select "Industry & Market Reports" from the "Reports" dropdown menu at the top of Statista.
Select "Market Insights" from the "Insights" dropdown menu at the top of Statista to find information about a market, such as worldwide "Luxury Leather Goods, eCommerce" or "Luxury Leather Goods, Consumer." Comparative statistics for markets within different countries can be generated. See the video tutorial on the "Market Insights" page for more information.
Find information about companies, products, consumers, brands, and trends by keyword searching in Statista and then narrowing results using filters in the sidebar. You can also browse reports of interest by selecting "Digital & Trends Reports," "Consumer & Brand Reports," or "Companies & Products Reports" from the "Reports" dropdown menu at the top of Statista. Please note that you may find more companies in our other company databases.
If, after exploring the resources above (CIA World Factbook, Economist Intelligence Unit, MarketLine, and Statista), you would like to find additional information about countries, industries, and companies, consider expanding your research with the following databases:
Search and browse this company and industry database to find profiles on top companies (including SWOT analyses), industry and market reports, business articles, and more. Find industry reports with a NAICS code or keyword search. Please note that you may find more companies in our other company databases.
Private market data, focused on venture capital, private equity and mergers and acquisitions (M&A). Users are required to register with their syr.edu email address and will be asked to login each time.
Search for a company name using the search box on the Pitchbook homepage. Go to "Companies" in the Pitchbook sidebar menu to select criteria such as "Location" to generate a list of companies in a particular country. Please note that you may find more companies in our other company databases.
Find profiles on public and private companies around the world by searching for a company name or using the "Advanced Search" to limit by location and other criteria. To find companies outside the United States, be sure to deselect "Results will only include U.S. Companies" on the main search page. When using the "Advanced Search," make sure that "Include International Companies" is selected. Mergent Intellect appears to have more company profiles than our other company databases.
Find industry reports with a NAICS code or keyword search. To browse all available global industry reports, as well as reports on industries in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, open the "Industries" menu at the top of IBISWorld.
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology. Search and browse to find reports such as "Luxury Ecommerce 2024." Geographic limiters are available.
Market research reports covering services, demographics, the food and beverage industry, medical and health care industry, technology and media and more. Some reports are global in scope, while others focus on the United States.
The World Bank is an international organization providing financial assistance, research, and technical assistance to support developing countries.
World Bank’s open access repository for its research outputs.
The New York Times Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include NYT.
The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include WSJ.
The Washington Post Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include the Washington Post.
While this SOM 354 guide covers the most relevant resources for your course, you are welcome to explore additional business resources on the Business Information Guide.
