Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Engineering Management: Industry Information

Industry Research Tips

Recommendations for Industry Research

 

Identify relevant industry classification codes:

With industry classification codes, such as NAICS codes, you can locate industry reports and articles. See the Identifying Industry Classification Codes box for industry code sources.

 

Find industry associations:

Industry associations often gather industry statistics and data, create industry reports, and publish industry news and articles. This valuable industry information is sometimes made available to non-members either on the association's website or via the Libraries' research databases. Business Insights: Essentials and IBISWorld are databases that are especially useful for locating industry associations.

 

Browse industry reports:

The Libraries have several databases that provide overviews and in-depth industry information, such as IBISWorld, Business Insights: Essentials, and the First Research module in Mergent Intellect.

 

Read industry articles and publications:

Discover industry articles and publications via your feed reader, industry associations, and by using searching with keywords or NAICS codes in business article databases, such as Business Source Elite and ABI/Inform. Visit the Articles and News tab of the Business Information Guide for tips on article databases and feed readers.

 

For a demonstration of how some of these recommendations may be applied, refer to the Industry Research Video Tutorials.

Identifying Industry Classification Codes

With industry classification codes, you can find business statistics, compare companies within the same industry, and locate industry reports and articles.

Quick research tip: If you are having trouble determining the appropriate NAICS or SIC codes, try searching for a few companies within your industry of interest in a company database. Note the industry codes associated with those companies and then go back to the industry classification system to review the official industry code definitions in order to determine which codes may be most appropriate for your research.

Recommended Databases for Industry Research

Top Three Database Recommendations for Industry Research

Additional Recommended Databases for Industry Research

Census Resources

Here are a few U.S. Census links that may help you when researching an industry.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Stephanie JH McReynolds
she/her/hers
Contact:
Schedule an Online Meeting

Email: sjmcreyn@syr.edu
While I will do my best to reply to you as soon as possible, if my schedule is especially busy that week, it may take one or two business days to receive a reply. If you would like immediate assistance from a library staff person, especially if it is after "business hours," consider using SU Libraries' "Ask Us!" options, which include a 24/7 chat service.

Office Hours Drop in to in-person office hours at the Whitman School of Management and the Blackstone LaunchPad to ask questions, learn about business research resources, or just say "Hi!"

Whitman Office Hours Mondays, 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Whitman (table by the main entrance on the first floor)
Note: No office hours November 21. Office hours will be 12:00 pm (Noon) to 2:00 pm on November 28. Last day for office hours will be December 5.

LaunchPad Office Hours Wednesdays, 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Blackstone LaunchPad (on the first floor of Bird Library)
Note: No office hours November 23. Last day for office hours will be December 7.