Research Guides: Engineering Management: Company Information

Recommended Databases for Company Research

Top Three Database Recommendations for Company Research

Business Insights: Essentials
Includes company profiles, financials, and SWOT analyses, industry reports and associations, market share reports, business publications, and more.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Formerly ReferenceUSA or Reference USA.
Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

Additional Recommended Databases for Company Research:

EDGAR
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to U.S. public company information, enabling research on a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K that a company does not have to disclose to investors. Information and data (including full reports) from EDGAR may also be found in the Libraries' subscription databases that cover public companies.

COMPUSTAT
For a “daypass” URL to be automatically emailed to you, you must enter a valid syr.edu email address. For remote or longer term access, Register at Wharton Research Data Services if you do not already have a WRDS account.
Financial information, including income statements, stock prices, balance sheets, and data about publicly held companies, including some historic data.
Dun and Bradstreet Private Company
Users are required to register and will be asked to login each time. User registration enables saving searches and email notifications.
Historic U.S. private company information from D&B’s historical Duns Marketing Information (DMI) files. Download data from specific years or a range of years from 1969 up to two years from the current year (with the exception of 1981 and 1984, which are unavailable).
Factiva
Five simultaneous users.
Newspapers, trade publications, business news, investment and market research reports, company profiles and more.
GuideStar Pro
Information about U.S. nonprofit organizations from Internal Revenue Service Form 990 financial statements and the organizations themselves.
Hoover's Company Profiles
Features company profiles on thousands of public and private businesses.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth company, industry and product intelligence. Provides international coverage.
Mergent Archives
Moody's/Mergent Corporate and Municipal Manuals, D&B Key Business Ratios, and the Mergent Historical SEC Collection.
Mergent Online
Financial information and detailed profiles on public U.S. companies, as well as in-depth profiles on international companies. Search Hint: Use the "Advanced" search to obtain comparative company data.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis— including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password is recommended for features such as alerts and saved searches. Search Hint: Once you are in Nexis Uni, for company profiles, click on "Company Dossier," under the dropdown Menu, in the upper left side of the screen. For additional business content, click on "Business," under "Discover topics."
PrivCo
Users are required to register with their syr.edu email address and will be asked to login each time.

Company profiles on private (non-publicly traded) companies. Includes financials, venture capital and private equity funding, and mergers and acquisitions (M&A).
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Annual reports on U.S. companies.
Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
ThomasNet.com
Information about suppliers and products, including company profiles, contact information, and CAD drawings.
Value Line Research Center
Investment information covering the stock market, and public companies.
Westlaw Campus Research
Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources. Search Hint: Once you are in Westlaw, click on "Company Investigator" (under "All Content") to explore company profiles and to create lists of companies.

Your Librarian

Stephanie JH McReynolds

she/her/hers

Contact:

Schedule an Online Meeting*
Drop by Office Hours (details below)
Email Me**

*Online meetings are 25 minutes. If you would like more time, you can schedule two meetings in a row.

**If none of the online meeting times or office hours work for you and you would like to schedule a meeting, or if you simply want to email a question, please do email me. I will reply to your email as soon as possible, usually that same business day. However, if my schedule is especially busy that week, it may take one or two business days to receive a reply. If you would like immediate assistance from a library staff person, especially if it is after "business hours," consider using SU Libraries' Get Help options, which include a 24/7 chat service.

Office Hours: Drop in to in-person office hours at the Whitman School of Management and the Blackstone LaunchPad to ask questions, learn about business research resources, or just say "Hi!"

Whitman Office Hours Tuesdays, 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Whitman (table by the main entrance on the first floor)
Note: Last day for Whitman office hours will be April 25.

LaunchPad Office Hours Wednesdays, 1:30 pm to 3:30 pm
Blackstone LaunchPad (on the first floor of Bird Library)
Note: Last day for LaunchPad office hours will be April 26.

Subjects: Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship