Research Guides: Human Development & Family Science: News/Media Sources

News as an Information Format

News sources are invaluable as a discovery tool! As an information source, news is current, quickly written, sometimes has an editorial process (for fact checking and content presentation), can be primary or secondary, can be biased, and is not always accurate. You will need to read around a topic using several sources to corroborate the evidence in what you're reading. It captures the conversation around an event or topic in our communities and professions, often pointing to original source material, policies, and organizations that can be used as clues to further your research. There are many avenues by which we absorb the news. Some are freely accessible and others are fee-based. Here are a few to get you started.

Caution: Be critical. Evaluate what you're reading!

News Databases

National Newspapers - utilizing the databases to search on a topic across several news titles/sources

Access World News Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Nexis Uni News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
US Newsstream U.S. news content from the 1980s to present, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, and content from the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

National Newspapers - browsing the latest (today's) articles

The Washington Post
Choose the "Proquest Central" option
The New York Times
Scroll to the date range and link: 06/01/1980 to Present in ProQuest Central
The Wall Street Journal
Los Angeles Times
scroll to Proquest Central

Local Syracuse Newspaper Archive

NewspaperARCHIVE.com Great "page view" archive of the Post Standard. Microsoft Edge users will not see print and download menu bar. Use of an alternative browser is recommended (Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google Chrome).
Post-Standard Collection Post-Standard newspaper, Syracuse, New York (1986 - present).

State and Federal: what's happening right now in New York legislature and DC

POLITICO Pro Policy news covering agriculture, budget and appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, energy, health, labor, employment, taxes, technology, trade, and transportation.

Specialized News Databases

Indigenous Newspapers in North America Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. From the collections at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas. Key topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, tribal laws and elections, sovereignty, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.