Research Guides: Newspaper Databases: Local Newspapers

Syracuse.com

Since Fall of 2020, Syracuse University and Advance Media have an agreement in place offering exclusive access behind the Syracuse.com paywall, available to all current SU students, faculty and staff. An excellent access point to digital journalism covering the Syracuse and Central New York Region.

To activate that Syracuse.com access, use these websites

SU Students: https://www.syracuse.com/digitalsubscription/sustudent/
SU Faculty/Staff: https://www.syracuse.com/digitalsubscription/sufaculty/

Troubleshooting account problems: This is not access managed by Syracuse University Libraries. When addressing account registration problems, consult Syracuse.com's page for digital subscription FAQs. For problem solving not addressed there, Syracuse.com offers these options for getting further help -

Syracuse.com Customer Care Email: digitalservice@syracuse.com
Syracuse.com Customer Care Telephone Numbers: 1-315-470-6397, or toll free at - 1-800-765-3231

For deep archival access to newspaper article text for the Syracuse Post-Standard, as well as other Syracuse newspapers active at one time but no longer published, visit the database, Syracuse News Sources (aka: Newsbank) [coverage is mid 1980s up to the present] and/or NewspaperArchive [a deeper archive of fully page imaged Syracuse newspapers, covering recent dates and reaching back to the 19th Century. Beyond Syracuse, NewspaperArchive offers historical newspaper titles for many other cities and towns in New York State.]

Syracuse Newspapers: Current and Historical

Post Standard Collection - Syracuse Post-Standard (NewsBank) 1986-

Search or browse articles from the Syracuse Post-Standard (December 1986 – present) and Syracuse.com (October 2012 – present), including full color scans of that newspaper’s print edition (June 2019 – present).

NewspaperARCHIVE.com
New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.

Syracuse Area Newspaper Websites

Historical Coverage of Area Newspapers

In addition to the NewspaperArchive database, you will find historical coverage of Syracuse and NY State newspapers via:

NYS Historic Newspapers
From the NY3RS Association, digitized newspapers from across New York State, with back issues that reach into the 19th Century for many titles.
Old New York State Pages
Over 13 million pages of historic newspaper content from all over New York State. Sponsored by FultonHistory.com
Onondaga Historical Association
An invaluable resource when researching local history. This association also offers substantial volumes of original print edition Syracuse newspapers. Making an advance appointment to conduct research at their research center is strongly recommended, especially if seeking specific Syracuse newspaper titles.

Local Papers: Outside Syracuse

For local newspapers published in areas outside of Central New York, the best strategy would be to look for a publication's web page for current news, then try the NewspaperARCHIVE for older back issues or historic coverage. Good starting points also include the following:

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
The Library of Congress collecfions of digitized U.S. newspapers for the full United States, with digitized access covering 1770-1963 and also a comprehensive U.S. newspaper directory, 1690-present
Newspapers USA and Worldwide
A directory of online newspapers. From RefDesk.com