Research Guides: Newspaper Databases: Historical Newspapers

SU Libraries' Databases with Historical Newspaper Coverage

African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
African American newspapers published during the 1800s; includes full page image content.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Open access collection of newspapers from U.S. prisons; a Reveal Digital project.
American Underworld: The Flash Press
Newspapers from 1826-1876, covering topics such as crime, sports, urban life scandal, and more, from the American Antiquarian Society collections.
America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers. Northern and Old Northwest newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s. Database content is based on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820. Post 1820 content has been supplemented by nearly two million issues added by the American Antiquarian Society.
Atlanta Daily World
Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1932 to 2010
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Boston Globe
Full-page and article images from the Boston Globe. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and covers 1872 up to 32 years of the current date.
Chicago Defender Archive
The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. BSC provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Chicago Tribune
Full-page and article images from the Chicago Tribune. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and covers 1849 up to 10 years of the current date.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016
Digitized, page image access to the Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 newspaper, and cruise-ship Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, from 1923—1931.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
National, regional, and local newspapers published around the 1920s in the United States, documenting the voices of multiple organizations that either opposed or supported white supremacy and nationalism.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Independent Voices
Open access alternative press and underground newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s to 1980s, including feminist, LGBT, minority, campus, community, GI, right-wing, and small literary presses.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.
New York Amsterdam News
Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1922 to 2010
NK News Pro
Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), including information news and analysis.
Pittsburgh Courier
Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1911 to 2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel
This historical newspaper provides researchers with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1934 - 2010
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 2001.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
Known globally for its coverage of business and economics. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.
Service Newspapers of World War Two
Service newspapers from the British Library; Imperial War Museums; US Army Heritage and Education Center, US Army War College; Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand; Berlin State Library - Prussian Cultural Heritage.

Digital Newspaper Archives on the Web

Chronicling America: The Library of Congress
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. Includes descriptions of free and fee-based historical newspaper collections.

New York Times?

Pam Thomas/Syracuse University Libraries

Syracuse University students and faculty have access to a number of indexes and full-text article databases that include New York Times coverage, including:

ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times

For more options, or to learn about access to the New York Times and New York Times Online for Syracuse University affiliated users see the New York Times Guide.