Research Guides: IDS 301: What's the Big Idea? Technology Innovation: Suggested Databases

Intro

Welcome, IDS 301 students! This guide includes a few search tips and resource starting points that may be helpful as you conduct your market analysis and further develop your business idea. Research guides in other subjects and librarian contact info are listed in the left sidebar navigation menu of this guide.

Searching Tips

Use phrase searching if your topic is more than one word for precise results. Example: "fashion resale".
You may need to search more than once with different keywords to find effective sources in quantity and quality to support your analysis.
Use limiters within database to narrow. Examples: date range, subject categories, type of source.

How to find additional sources within article results:

Skim titles, subject headings, or author-supplied keywords, which may include different terms for additional searches.
Use the list of references at the end of the article to find additional sources.

This worksheet, available in PDF and Word, is a useful tool for mapping concepts and potential searches prior to starting the search in a database.

Constructing a Search Worksheet (PDF)
Constructing a Search Worksheet (Word)

These links include additional searching tips and steps for conducting research:

Find Books, Articles, Media, and More using Libraries Search

SU Libraries' new Libraries Search Platform was launched on June 26 and replaces the Classic Catalog and Summon. Visit this page for detailed instructions and videos on the use of Libraries Search. Electronic resources will be activated in Libraries Search on an ongoing basis. For assistance in finding electronic resources, please contact the Libraries via the Get Help page, libref@syr.edu, or Brenna at bhelmstu@syr.edu.

Article Searches

Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.

Visit the Articles and News page of the Business Information Guide for additional resources.

Research Guides available for each program at SU could also offer additional sources by subject.

Industry Resources

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
This current U.S. government standard to classify businesses was developed to allow for comparability in business statistics among North American countries. NAICS groups together establishments that use the same or similar processes to produce goods or services. (NAICS superseded SIC codes. Go to the FAQ on the NAICS website for more info about NAICS and SIC.)

IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Insights
Articles about business, company histories and profiles, financial and industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

Visit the Industry Research page of the Business Information Guide for additional resources.

Company Resources

PrivCo
Users are required to register with their syr.edu email address and will be asked to login each time.

Company profiles on private (non-publicly traded) companies. Includes financials, venture capital and private equity funding, and mergers and acquisitions (M&A).
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

Visit the Company Research page of the Business Information Guide for additional resources.

Market Research Resources

Explore Census Data
This is the source for the current U.S. Census data for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. This NEW website replaces American Fact Finder.
United States Census Bureau
Links to more information and data sources from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Social Explorer
Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.
SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
MRI Simmons
50 simultaneous users. Consumer survey data for U.S. individuals and households, yielding cross-tabulated brand and product category preferences, demographic and psychographic data, and trends for use of digital and traditional media. Includes access to Brand Catalyst, a visualization platform for creating consumer personas that compare and predict these preferences.

For additional guidance on how to use Simmons and interpret Simmons reports and data, view the short video How to use Simmons Insights from the University of Alabama Libraries (which shows a basic Crosstab search using the Simmons Dictionary to find data) and visit this guide on using Simmons from the Bentley University Library (which has short videos on Quick Reports and creating a Crosstab search, as well as links to guides from Simmons on interpreting the reports and data). For more in-depth guidance, visit the Simmons Insights page of the Advertising Guide, which was compiled by SU Librarian for the Newhouse School of Public Communications Michael Pasqualoni.

Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.
Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

Visit the Market Research and Data & Demographics pages of the Business Information Guide for additional resources.