Research Guides: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Articles

Best Bets

Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Knovel
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
AccessEngineering
Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and other McGraw Hill books, videos, graphs, and an Excel calculator tool.
IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards

Related Guides

Civil & Environmental Engineering Resources
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 268 views this year
Engineering Management
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 78 views this year
Engineering Failures
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 88 views this year
Patents
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 193 views this year
Technical Reports
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 31, 2023 124 views this year

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 8669 views this year

Recommended Databases

Databases include journals, articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more.

Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Knovel
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
AccessEngineering
Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and other McGraw Hill books, videos, graphs, and an Excel calculator tool.
IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
ACM Digital Library
Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
SciTech Connect
OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database of energy related scientific reports, conference papers, articles, books, patents in numerous fields including chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, math, and more, from 1948-present.
Computer Science
A comprehensive information technology research database, covering computer science, electronics and telecommunications. Provided by NOVELNY.

Open Access Resources

The following resources are freely available to you, even after you leave SU.

NSF Public Access Repository
Designated repository where NSF-funded investigators deposit peer-reviewed, published journal articles and juried conference papers.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A comprehensive database of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
Open Access Research Guide
Syracuse University Libraries Open Access Research Guide

Watch for the SULinks Icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Search Tips

Save your searches and set up alerts to see when new articles are available - look for a "create alert" option in the database

Focus your search results:

Use quotes for phrases (i.e. "machine learning")
Use 'AND'/'OR' (i.e. "data mining" AND regression)
Filter your search results by year, subject, and content type, typically in the left column

Have a citation and need to find the article/book? Try searching for the title in Libraries Search:

Librarian

Juan Denzer

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Carnegie Library

Subjects: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering