Research Guides: Technical Reports: Technical Reports

What is a Technical Report?

Technical reports publish the results of scientific or technical research, often using federal funds. The research is performed and reports are produced by companies, universities and government laboratories. These reports are a rich source of information because they report on the entire process of research, not just successful results.

Technical Report Databases

DTIC Online
Citations to unclassified unlimited documents entered into the Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Reports Collection from 1974 to present. Also offers full text documents September 1998 to present. DTIC has many full text documents available

SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
The NTRS is a valuable resource for researchers, students, educators, and the public to access NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. NTRS content continues to grow as new scientific and technical information (STI) is created or funded by NASA. The types of information found in the NTRS include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications
A database of more than 7,000 full-text EPA documents from the early 1990's to the present.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Transportation Research Information Database (TRID)
TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information. TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 records of published research. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.
Treesearch
Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books.

Your Librarian

Juan Denzer

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering