Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using this Research Guide
This guide is intended to assist you in locating books, articles, journals, subscription databases, and websites that will help you in your research. The guide is organized into the following set of pages:
If you have any favorite resources that are not a part of this guide, feel free to contact me or submit links using the Suggest a Title form.
Print resources in Engineering & Computer Science are located in the Carnegie Library.
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
Chemical literature, chemical compounds and reactions, including content from the Beilstein Database, Gmelin Database, and Patent Chemistry Database.
Articles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Also includes PatentPak, MethodsNow Synthesis, and Retrosynthesis. Search by substances by name, CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Requires separate login. See the CAS SciFinder-n Research Guide
for more help.
Or use the tabs above to access the best online research tools available for Civil and Environmental Engineering. Most of these resources are licensed exclusively for SU students, staff, and faculty.
Resources at SUNY-ESF
The collections at the Moon Library are very strong in biology, chemistry, and other environmental sciences, and all of this material is available to all SU students, faculty, and staff.