Research Guides: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Patents

Best Bets

Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.
Knovel
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
AccessEngineering
Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and other McGraw Hill books, videos, graphs, and an Excel calculator tool.
IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards

USPTO Patent Search
Search for patents granted by the Unites States Patent and Trademark Office. TIFF view required for full patent document.
USPTO Application Search
Search for patent applications to the United States Patent and Trademark Office. TIFF view required for full patent document.

esp@cenet - English
Searchable United States, European, World Intellectual Property, and Patent Abstracts from Japan.
Derwent Innovations Index
Patents supplemented by information from Derwent World Patents Index, and including patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index.
Google Patent Search
Searchable patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trade Office, issued from the 1790s nearly to the present.

Free Patents Online
Search US patents, applications, defensive publications, invention registration, as well as European patents & applications, patent documents & abstracts of Japan, and WIPO. Search Tip: Use the "Expert Search" option available from the dropdown menu to the right of the search box.

Patents & Patentability
From the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Libraries
Patent Searching
From the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Libraries
USPTO: How to Conduct a Patent Search
A 36-minute tutorial on "How to Conduct a Preliminary US Patent Search: A Step by Step Strategy"
USPTO: Seven Step Strategy
Strategy for preliminary searches of US patents and published applications

Civil & Environmental Engineering Resources
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 46 views this year
Engineering Management
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Mar 28, 2025 53 views this year
Engineering Failures
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 30 views this year
Patents
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 50 views this year
Technical Reports
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 31, 2023 16 views this year

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Mar 28, 2025 2824 views this year

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM International)
ASSIST-Quick Search
ASSIST-Quick Search provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository, the ASSIST database. You may get a message about the website certificate as the website is produced by the Department of Defense. You will need to register for an account to use this site.
British Standards Institution (BSI)
Everyspec
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Telecommunication Union
NASA START
NASA's Standards And Technical Assistance Resource Tool (START)
National Information Standards Organization (NIS0)
Underwriters Laboratories

SciTech Connect
OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database of energy related scientific reports, conference papers, articles, books, patents in numerous fields including chemistry, physics, environmental science, geology, engineering, math, and more, from 1948-present.
NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
Database of NASA technical reports, conference papers, articles, patents, and more, including content from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA Collection) from the early 1900s to 1958, NASA Collection, from 1958, and Nasa Image eXchange (NIX) Collection.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications
A database of more than 7,000 full-text EPA documents from the early 1990's to the present.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Transportation Research Information Database (TRID)
TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information. TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 records of published research. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.
Treesearch
Treesearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books.

Citation Guide
The SUL guide to citing sources provides quick access to examples and guidelines for some of the most frequently used citation styles.
Citation Management
On this page, you'll find links to the citation management tools that SU subscribes to.
Data Management Planning Guide
Includes information on data collection, analysis, management, and sharing.
OSF (Open Science Framework)
Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF relevant to your research while collecting, analyzing, and publishing your own work.

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Carnegie Library

Subjects: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering