Research Guides: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Journals

Best Bets

Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.
Knovel
Information covering many fields of engineering, providing details about material properties, process and design, best practices, equations and formulations.
AccessEngineering
Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers and other McGraw Hill books, videos, graphs, and an Excel calculator tool.
IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards

Find resources that are freely accessible to you, even after you leave SU.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A comprehensive database of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
Open Access Research Guide
Syracuse University Libraries Open Access Research Guide
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
A suite of peer-reviewed Open Access journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine. Each journal is editorially independent and specialized with regard to both its selection criteria and breadth of content.

Civil & Environmental Engineering Resources
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 46 views this year
Engineering Management
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Mar 28, 2025 53 views this year
Engineering Failures
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 30 views this year
Patents
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 50 views this year
Technical Reports
by Juan Denzer Last Updated Jul 31, 2023 16 views this year

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Mar 28, 2025 2824 views this year

Use our journal locator to find high-impact titles in your field, search for a specific journal, or browse through related subjects.

Browse subject lists of high-impact titles in the Journal Citation Reports database, or use G oogle Scholar Metrics to view journal rankings by subject area.

Research Metrics
Dissemination of knowledge is important to both the creator and the audience, who can benefit from access to new information. The scholarly impact of research can be measured through various means, including searching indexes, examining citations, and viewing social media. Profiling sites (such as LinkedIn) as well as institutional (e.g. SURFACE) and professional open repositories are important tools for increasing impact. This guide is designed to help you understand the methods and tools available for documenting and increasing scholarly impact.
more...less...
This guide is designed to help you understand the methods and tools available for documenting and increasing scholarly impact.
Metrics Toolkit
Provides guidance for demonstrating and evaluating claims of research impact. With the Toolkit you can quickly understand what a metric means, how it is calculated, and if it’s good match for your impact question.
Cabell's Journal Whitelist
Provides journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details.

Journal Citation Reports
Only available to SU students, faculty, and staff.
Tool for identifying journals in the social sciences and sciences and showing impact measures.

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Carnegie Library

Subjects: Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering