Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Equity, Diversity, Accessibility, and Inclusion: Taking Action / Getting Help

Main Research Guide of Syracuse University Libraries Diversity and Inclusion Team

Getting Help!

STOP Bias and Hate

STOP Bias and Hate is a collaborative campus effort that began in 2010 to raise awareness about bias and promote a culture of respect and inclusivity. It provides the campus community with resources to help those who have been impacted by bias-related incidents on and around campus. Here you will be able to find information about bias and avenues for support and reporting, connect to opportunities for education and dialogue, and get involved with other community members to support the University’s efforts in creating a safer and more welcoming environment for everyone.

Being an Effective Bystander

"To safely intervene and care for your community members is what it means to be Orange. " 

The Barnes Center at the Arch offers these strategies to consider if you observe or witness various situations where intervention may be needed. 

Additional resources at Syracuse University:

Peer Educators are undergraduate students that provide health and wellness education to their peers through interactive programs, tabling and other outreach events. Peer Educators are role models and liaisons that connect their peers to health and wellness resources on and off-campus. There are three Peer Education teams that specialize in different wellness topics. These include substance use, sexuality and relationships, and mental health. 

Additional resources:

Right to Be

Speak Up: Responding to Everyday Bigotry from the Southern Poverty Law Center

Speak Up! In Public  from the Learning for Justice website

Justice Action Toolkit  from the Community Toolbox.  "This toolkit provides resources to support community members working towards racial justice and gender equity, and indeed injustice in its many forms."

Online Harassment Field Manual from Pen America: While designed for writers and journalists, this resource "equips and empowers writers, journalists, and all those active online with practical tools and tactics to defend against online hate and harassment."

 

Resources for Racial Justice

The Resources for Racial Justice research guide offers information on:

  1. Anti-Racism Recommended Readings: includes readings within our collections and other compiled book lists.
  2. Anti-Racism Non-Print Media: includes films, documentaries, television series, and podcasts
  3. Anti-Racism Resources for Educators and Parents: includes syllabi, curricular resources, and children's book lists
  4. Take Action, Get Involved: includes funds, petitions, Black-owned businesses, and resources for protestors
  5. Local Resources and Organizations: includes local and regional organizations
  6. Support Resources for Affected BIPOC Communities: includes mental health and wellness resources for Black, indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC)

In April 2021, colleagues in the College of Arts and Sciences created and recorded a Virtual Teach-In that discusses issues surrounding the trial of Derek Chauvin, and the murder of George Floyd, from racialized domination, to the interactions between Black communities and police, to police reform and self-care for traumatic stress.

For your consideration

 We offer these as starting points for reflection, and do not necessarily agree with or endorse the viewpoints of the speakers. Captions in multiple languages are available by clicking on the small box with three dots once the video starts.  Additional videos can be found under "Library Resources."