Research Guides: Food Studies: Databases/Finding Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Research questions in Food Studies are often interdisciplinary. Searching these multi-disciplinary databases can be really helpful in discovering the conversation around your research topic. These are listed in alphabetical order and not by order of importance or usefulness.

Review the "Research Training Program," as a first step in learning how to search or fine-tune your search process.

ProQuest Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
EBSCO Search across EBSCO hosted databases, covering journal literature, ebooks, images, archival collections, numerous subjects and formats, across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Scopus Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
ScienceDirect Journal articles and book chapters covering science, technology, and medical fields; includes links to external datasets, and chemical reactions data from Reaxys.
JSTOR Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

General Food Studies Databases

The databases below are dedicated to Food Studies; however, because research in food studies is interdisciplinary, they are_not the only databases you should be using. Depending on your research question, you may find more successful results searching in either the multidisciplinary databases above OR in the other disciplinary databases listed in the box below that contain food studies specific content.

Alliance of Agricultural Information Services (SIDALC) "SIDALC is an international alliance of information services on agriculture, livestock production, forestry and the environment, involving a group of key institutions from 22 countries of the Americas that network to share information and services. Established in 1999, it has become one of the most important windows for accessing sector-specific knowledge in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC)."

Bloomsbury Food Library Books and reference works in food studies, food history and anthropology of food, with a broad coverage of topics, periods, and cultures. Image collections include content from the Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson and Wales University, The National Archives (UK), and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Culinary Arts Journals and magazines on cooking and nutrition. Includes recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. Provided by NOVELNY.
Food and Drink in History Manuscript and printed cookbooks, menus, and advertisements documenting the history of food and drink in the United States and Europe from 1500 to 2000. Content addresses issues such as gender, race, status, agriculture, nutrition, and food production from both a culinary and socio-economic approach. Includes Modules I and II.

Databases with strong Food Studies content (also see "Finding Policy" tab)

Agriculture & Environmental

AGRICOLA Index to journal articles, proceedings, reports and more in agriculture and related fields such as nutrition, public health, and veterinary medicine. AGRICOLA serves as the public catalog of the National Agricultural Library. It contains records for all of the holdings of the Library. It also contains citations to articles, much like PubAg. AGRICOLA also contains citations to many items that, while valuable and relevant to the agricultural sciences, are not peer-reviewed journal articles. Also, AGRICOLA has a different interface. So, while there is some overlap between the two resources, they are different in significant ways
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases, covering scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and more, on topics such as agriculture, farming, forestry, nutrition, veterinary sciences, and related fields.
BioOne Bioscience research journals covering agriculture, biology, ecology, environmental sciences, zoology and more.
GreenFILE Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
JSTOR Global Plants Database of plant type specimens from numerous sources, including reference works and primary sources, such as drawings and photographs.
OECD iLibrary Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
Treesearch Publications from the U.S. Forest Service on ecology, wildlife, forest health, and more.

PubAg Explore more than 42,000 full-text journal articles on the agricultural sciences, in addition to approximately 1.5 million citations

Law

HeinOnline United States federal and state laws, international law, case law, treaties, papers, law and international affairs, journals and more. Access provided by Syracuse University College of Law Library.
Nexis Uni News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Westlaw Campus Research Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources.

Political Science, Policy, International Affairs

PAIS Index Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Peace Research Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas.
Policy Commons Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, local governments, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations. Includes the modules North American City Reports, Global Think Tanks, World Cities, and World Governments.
Political Science Database Journals in political science and international relations.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Social Science - Geography

GeoRef Index to the geoscience literature, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
GreenFILE Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
Water Resources Reports United States Geological Services (USGS) publications about water, including articles, data, maps, pamphlets, reports, and videos.

Business / Economics

ABI/INFORM Collection Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
EconLit Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
Richard K. Miller and Associates Publications Richard K. Miller and Associates consumer and market research reports on entertainment, food, health care, leisure, sports, and more.

More Business Databases

Social Sciences - Misc

AnthroSource Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
Anthropology Plus Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts A social science and health information indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Bloomsbury Cultural History Books and images for the study of culture throughout the ages, including animals, food, work, fashion, the human body, media, and more. Includes the Bloomsbury Cultural History series and other scholarly history titles.
Contemporary Women's Issues Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Education Source Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
GenderWatch Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Index to research related to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, from 1900 to present.
ProQuest Social Sciences Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Race Relations Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Sociological Abstracts Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
Sociology Database Journals covering sociology and social work.
Women's Studies International Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.

Health & Nutrition (in school settings see also Education Source above)

CINAHL Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covering literature on allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, nursing and more.
Cochrane Library Cochrane Library Online provides access to evidence-based resources related to healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Clinical Answers.
ProQuest Health and Medicine Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Sports Medicine and Education Index, Public Health Database, Healthcare Administration Database, and others.
PubMed MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.

Other databases in other disciplines continued...

The databases listed here will get you started finding articles published in scholarly journals and conference publications. Remember that Food Studies is interdisciplinary. Consider other databases in the following disciplines/subject areas:

Advertising
Anthropology
Economics
Education
Geography
Geology
Law
Health & Wellness (Public Health)
History
Nutrition
Political Science
Psychology
Sociology

Think about your topic and search the ones that apply!