Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HST: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History
Presents the geography, the demography, and the political, social, and economic history of Latin America. Provides a topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day, bringing to light patterns of continuity and change.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Spain: A Unique History (eBook)
Topics include Muslim culture in the peninsula, the Spanish monarchy, the empire, and the relationship between Spain and Portugal.
HST: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- Anthropology Plus
World's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies.
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
- ATLA Religion Database
An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
- Project Muse
Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.