Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Research and Citation Resources
Citation generators here are quicker to learn to use but have less functionality compared to Bibliographic Management Software. It is recommended to double check the style created by any citation generator.
KnightCite - Online Citation Generator http://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/index.php
EasyBib - Online Citation Generator and Manager http://www.easybib.com/
BibMe - Online Citation Generator and Manager http://www.bibme.org/
If you find articles or other resources in Library databases, often the database will automatically generate the APA style bibliograpy entry for an article or other item. If possible, do this when you find the article, as it may not be worth the time to pull it up in the database again later.
When you are in the record for an article or other item, click the "Cite" link in the right column.
This will bring up the bibliography entry for your article or other item, just after where it says APA (American Psychological Assoc.) References. You can copy and paste it to your paper.
Bibliographic Management Software is discussed farther down this page. You do not have to use it. However, if you decide to download Bibliographic Management Software on your computer, this is where you could export your data from Ebsco into your software.
If you use the "E-mail" link in an Ebsco database to email an article to yourself, you can email the APA style bibliography entry as shown. A similar option is available if you use the "Save" link in an Ebsco database.
This software takes a little time to learn, but you may decide it's worth using if you expect to do many papers or long bibliographies. Bibliographic Management Software allows you to add a plugin to Microsoft Word so that you can automatically generate in text citations as well as bibliographies. It is recommended to double check the style created by any bibliographic management software. The links below go to webpages that will help explain how to download and use the software.
RefWorks (SU subscription)
Contact citations@listserv.syr.edu for assistance with these tools
The official resource for citing government information, such as laws and bills, is called the Bluebook. It is a print book available on the 2nd floor of Bird library with call number KF 245 B58. Other government document citation resources from SU's Government Documents Librarian .
However, if you are citing common government documents, the following may give you enough examples:
John Jay College of Criminal Justice How to Cite Legal Materials [pdf]
Indiana University Bloomington's Guide to Citing U.S. Government Publications
Examples from Cornell University's guide to APA Citation Style: