Use databases to begin searching for articles and information on your topic. You will retrieve citations. Some databases also offer full-text articles. Most of these databases are subscribed to by the library and are only available to SU faculty, staff, and students. If you are off campus, you will be asked to enter your last name and SUID number to log in to the database. *Enter all ten digits of your SUID, including the last one.*
Essential strategies for searching databases
Using subject headings to search databases
Frequently used databases (If needed, be sure to look for the limiters for Peer Review or Refereed):
Social Services Abstracts [Vendor-Proquest]-- Covers Social Work topics. Some suggested Descriptor words to search with for policy topics: laws or policy or government policy or judicial decisions or disposition or legal
PsycINFO [Vendor- EBSCO]-- Focuses on psychology topics. Some suggested Descriptor words to search with for policy topics: Law or Laws or Lawsuits or Legislative processes or Policy making or Government Policy Making
AgeLine [vendor: Ebsco] -- This database is about older adults. Provides coverage of social gerontology--the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966; updated bimonthly.
Public Administration Abstracts [vendor: EBSCO]-- Includes bibliographic records covering public administration. Some suggested Descroptor words to search with for policy topics: Law or Legislation
PAIS International [Vendor- Proquest] -- Covers public affairs topics. Some suggested Descriptor words to search with for policy topics: Actions and Defenses or Decisions (law) or Law or Legislation or Regulation
Social Sciences Full Text [vendor: Ebsco] -- Covers a wide variety of topics in social sciences.
General Databases that cover many topics:
Proquest Research Library [vendor: Proquest]
Omnifile Mega [vendor: Ebsco]
See all Social Work related databases (Includes databases about: Social Work/Psychology/Sociology, Age Groups, Criminal Justice, Ethnic Groups, Gender, Health, Public Affairs)
Go to Citation Linker Finding Full Text Once You Have a Citation
